Comparison · Replit re-read 13 September 2026; other vendors 10–13 September; every claim from the vendor’s own pages

    Replit alternatives for mobile apps (2026), sorted by what each one ships

    Replit builds web apps, mobile apps and tools from an agent chat, and its documented mobile route is Expo (React Native): previewed in Expo Go, built in the cloud, submitted through TestFlight and App Store Connect under your own Apple account. This page sorts the alternatives by the thing you want that Replit does differently: a native Swift and Kotlin app, the same Expo route with a different billing model, a web app in a store wrapper, or a coding agent with no hosted builder at all.

    Verified

    Start from why you are looking. Replit’s docs describe the mobile output as Expo: “Expo uses React Native to help you build apps for iOS, Android, and the web from a single codebase.” Preview is Expo Go — “When you scan the QR code in the Project Editor, Expo Go downloads and runs your app code” — and the iOS release flow is “Publish from the Project Editor, Submit a build to TestFlight, Promote a TestFlight build to the App Store in App Store Connect.” No Mac is required: “Replit and Expo manage the build process for you in the cloud.” Plans on 13 September 2026: Core $20 a month ($18 billed annually) with “$20 towards most powerful models”; Pro $100 ($90 annually) with “$100 towards most powerful models”, “Up to 15 collaborators” and “10 parallel agents”; paid work uses “effort-based pricing based on request complexity.”

    So there are four reasons people search for an alternative, and each has a different answer: you want a native app rather than an Expo one (group 1); you want the Expo route but a different price or credit model (group 2); your product is a web app and you want it in the stores as a wrapper (group 3); or you want the agent without the hosted platform (group 4). Replit vs Claude Code covers the fourth case in depth.

    Group 1: native iOS and Android instead of Expo

    An Expo app runs JavaScript on the phone and renders screens through React Native’s components; a native app is Swift/SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin/Jetpack Compose on Android, opened in Xcode and Android Studio. React Native vs native sets out what each can do; this group is for readers who have decided on native.

    Modaal (both platforms from one project). A Mac app; the coding agent you already pay for — Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, Copilot or Cursor — writes a plan you approve, then real SwiftUI for iPhone and Kotlin/Compose for Android from one project, with a shared core and one set of recorded fixtures both platforms must match. The result is an Xcode project and an Android Studio project in Git on your Mac. There is no credit meter: the free plan is one project on one platform with unlimited prompts; Pro is €9 per user per month billed annually (€15 monthly) for both platforms and store distribution — pricing. It requires a Mac, which Replit does not.

    Rork (native, two separate apps). Rork’s docs, read 10 September 2026: “Rork writes a real Android Studio project in Kotlin” and “each app has its own code” — the iPhone app and the Android app are written separately. Pro is $20 a month for 100 credits; the free plan is “Design mode” without working code; “Paid users own all generated code. Download it via GitHub!” Modaal vs Rork has the full comparison.

    Superapp (iPhone only). Its site states it “generates production-ready native Swift code” and “You fully own the code and can export it anytime.” Android is not mentioned on the site. Pro is $25 a month; credits “carry over across billing cycles.” Modaal vs Superapp covers the single-platform trade-off.

    Group 2: the same Expo route, a different meter

    These tools produce what Replit produces — an Expo (React Native) project — and differ in billing, export and what else the platform hosts. The cross-platform builder guide places each of them by output; the Anything alternatives page lists each vendor’s credit rule in its own words.

    Vibecode. “Your apps are built using React Native and Expo, which compile to native iOS and Android code.” Export is “Download Code”“a complete React Native/Expo project.” Credits “roll over each billing cycle and never expire.” The site labels its prices “experimental and may evolve”, so read the pricing page on the day.

    Bolt. “Expo is a platform that lets you build mobile apps for both iPhone and Android using the same code.” Bolt’s docs tell you to choose mobile at the start — “By mentioning mobile app in your very first prompt…” — because “Projects created for web do not easily switch over to mobile.” You can “download the code and open it in a code editor”; tokens “roll over and stay valid for two months.”

    Anything. “Under the hood, Anything generates Expo (React Native) code.” Pro is $19 a month billed annually ($24 monthly) with 20,000 credits; “Unused monthly credits expire at the end of your billing cycle”; the source code downloads as a zip. Google Play publishing is described as in beta.

    Emergent. “Supported: Expo/React Native only” and “Not Supported: Flutter, native Kotlin, native Swift.” Standard is $20 a month; the mobile agent is on paid plans only; “No Mac needed — EAS builds iOS apps in the cloud.” The backend (FastAPI, MongoDB) is hosted by Emergent. Emergent review has the details, including the marketing page’s “native” wording beside the docs.

    Group 3: a web app, then a store wrapper

    If the product is a web app first — an internal tool, a portal, a marketplace — the store app can be that web app inside a wrapper, and two builders document that route.

    Base44. “Your mobile app runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view. This is a lightweight native wrapper around your web app that opens only your app’s URL.” Store files download on the Builder plan ($40 a month billed annually) or higher; “Full offline mode and HealthKit are not supported yet”; unused credits “expire at the end of your credit cycle.” Base44 review covers plans, GitHub sync and roles.

    Lovable. Its docs state “Lovable does not generate React Native projects”; the documented mobile options are a PWA or a Capacitor wrapper around the web app. Export is a ZIP or GitHub sync; “Plans are priced by credits, not seats.” Check the pricing page on the day for figures.

    A wrapper is one web page rendered in a browser component. Camera, files and notifications go through what the wrapper exposes; screens do not use the platform’s components. For content-driven apps this is often enough; for anything that needs offline data or HealthKit, Base44’s docs say it is not.

    Group 4: the agent without the platform

    Some readers want Replit Agent’s core — an AI that writes and runs code — without the hosted workspace, the deployment layer or the meter. Claude Code’s documentation describes it as “an agentic coding tool that reads your codebase, edits files, runs commands, and integrates with your development tools”, available “in your terminal, IDE, desktop app, and browser”; “Most surfaces require a Claude subscription or Anthropic Console account.” It writes Swift or Kotlin when asked. What its docs do not describe is a mobile pipeline: project setup, simulator, store distribution, the spec-before-code loop. That is the gap Modaal fills on top of the same agent, and the reason Replit vs Claude Code ends with a third option rather than a winner.

    Billing models, side by side

    Replit bills by effort: “Paid modes and confirmed paid work use effort-based pricing based on request complexity”, with a dollar allowance per plan toward the strongest models and a confirmation before a paid action starts. Rork, Anything, Emergent and Base44 bill by monthly credits that expire (Anything and Base44 state expiry; Emergent’s page does not state either way; Rork’s reset on the monthly anniversary). Vibecode and Superapp bill by credits that carry over. Bolt bills by tokens valid for two months. Modaal bills per seat with no meter, because the AI work runs on the agent subscription you already hold. Which model is cheaper depends on how many edits a month you make; count the edits of your last project before you compare prices. The cheapest way to build a mobile app works the arithmetic.

    Moving a Replit project

    If you already have a Replit mobile project, it is an Expo project. Any tool in group 2 can continue it; a React Native developer can open it directly. Moving to group 1 is a rewrite of the screens in the platform’s own toolkit, with the data model and API contracts carried over as the spec. Moving to group 3 means the mobile screens are dropped for the web app. For export mechanics on Replit’s side — Git, download, deployments — check Replit’s own documentation on the day; this page does not restate it. The code-export guide lists what each destination tool lets you take out again.

    Replit and ten alternatives, by what they ship

    ToolMobile outputMac neededBillingCode export
    ReplitExpo (React Native), one codebase; iOS via TestFlight / App Store ConnectNo — “manage the build process for you in the cloud”Core $20 ($18 annual), Pro $100 ($90 annual); effort-basedCheck Replit’s docs
    ModaalNative SwiftUI + Kotlin/Compose, one projectYesFree 1 project; Pro €9/user/mo annual (€15 monthly); no creditsOn your disk from the first build
    RorkNative Swift + Kotlin, separate appsCheck vendor requirementsPro $20/mo, 100 credits; free = design mode“Paid users own all generated code”, via GitHub
    SuperappNative Swift, iPhone onlyBrowser or Mac appPro $25/mo; credits carry over“export it anytime”
    VibecodeExpo (React Native)Not statedCredits “never expire”; prices “experimental”“Download Code” — full Expo project
    BoltExpo (React Native)Not statedTokens, valid two months“download the code and open it in a code editor”
    AnythingExpo (React Native)Not statedPro $19/mo annual ($24 monthly); credits expire monthlyZip download
    EmergentExpo (React Native) onlyNo — “EAS builds iOS apps in the cloud”Standard $20/mo; rollover not statedDownload + GitHub
    Base44Web view around the published web appNot statedBuilder $40/mo annual for store files; credits expire monthlyGitHub two-way sync, Builder+
    LovablePWA or Capacitor wrapper; “does not generate React Native projects”Not stated“priced by credits, not seats”ZIP or GitHub sync
    Claude CodeNone described; writes Swift/Kotlin on requestFor iOS builds, yes (Xcode)Claude subscription or Console accountIt is your repo

    Replit from replit.com/pricing and docs.replit.com, 13 September 2026. Other vendors from their own sites and docs, 10–13 September 2026. Prices are the vendors’ listed figures on those dates.

    Frequently asked questions

    It depends on the output you want. For a native iPhone and Android app from one project, Modaal. For native apps written separately, Rork. For the same Expo route Replit uses, Vibecode, Bolt, Anything or Emergent. For a web app in a store wrapper, Base44 or Lovable.

    Replit’s documented mobile route is Expo: “Expo uses React Native to help you build apps for iOS, Android, and the web from a single codebase.” The app installs from the stores; its code is JavaScript or TypeScript, not Swift or Kotlin.

    No. Replit’s docs: “Replit and Expo manage the build process for you in the cloud.” You need an Apple Developer Program membership to submit to TestFlight and the App Store.

    On 13 September 2026: Core $20 a month or $18 a month billed annually, with “$20 towards most powerful models”; Pro $100 a month or $90 billed annually, with “$100 towards most powerful models”, up to 15 collaborators and 10 parallel agents; Enterprise custom.

    Modaal bills per seat with unlimited prompts, because the AI work runs on the agent subscription you already hold. Claude Code on its own runs on a Claude subscription. Every other tool on this page meters by credits or tokens.

    Modaal’s free plan builds one project on one platform with unlimited prompts. Rork’s free plan is design mode without working code. Anything requires a paid plan to build. Emergent’s mobile agent is on paid plans only. Base44’s free plan runs the store scan but not the store file download.

    A Replit mobile project is an Expo project, so any Expo-based tool or a React Native developer can continue it. Moving to a native tool means rebuilding the screens in Swift and Kotlin with the data model carried over. Check Replit’s docs for the export mechanics.

    For the agent, yes: it reads, edits and runs code in your terminal or IDE on a Claude subscription. It does not include a hosted workspace, deployments or a mobile pipeline; Modaal adds the mobile pipeline on top of Claude Code and the other agents.

    Start free. Ship native.

    One project, unlimited prompts. No card.

    Keep reading