Review · every Base44 fact quoted from base44.com or docs.base44.com, 13 September 2026
Base44 review (2026): what it builds, what the store app is, what the credits cover
Base44 is a no-code AI platform, owned by Wix, that builds web apps, websites and AI agents from a chat. For the App Store and Google Play it packages your published web app inside a web view — its documentation’s description, quoted below. This review covers the product in Base44’s own words: the builder, the store wrapper and its stated limits, message and integration credits and their expiry, GitHub sync, workspace roles, and who Base44 fits. One section states what a native app adds and where Modaal, our own product, differs.
Verified
The short answer. Base44 builds web apps. Its homepage says “Base44 is a no-code AI platform for building apps, websites and AI agents — no coding required.” For mobile, its documentation says: “Your mobile app runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view. This is a lightweight native wrapper around your web app that opens only your app’s URL.” You scan the app against store guidelines, fix flagged issues in the chat, generate the IPA and AAB files (Builder plan or higher) and submit them under your own Apple and Google developer accounts. Building is metered in message credits that “expire at the end of your credit cycle and do not carry over.”
Choose Base44 if the product is a web app first, you want it in the stores as the same web app, and hosting, database, authentication and payments inside one platform matter more than platform-native screens. Choose another route if the phone app needs offline mode, HealthKit, or the platform’s own UI toolkit — Base44’s docs list the first two as not supported. Can Base44 make mobile apps? answers the yes/no question; this page reviews the whole product.
What Base44 is, from its own pages
The homepage headline is “Every builder needs a base”, with the line “Build your own apps, websites, products and AI agents on Base44 using your own words.” The site footer reads “© 2026 Wix.com Ltd. All rights reserved.” The Code tab documentation notes that “basic familiarity with React and JSX helps”, which fixes the front-end as React.
What the platform includes on the free plan, from the pricing page: “Authentication, database functionality, analytics” and “Up to 5 apps.” Paid plans add “In-app code edits”, “Connect a domain”, “AI model select”, and from Builder up “Github integration” and “Early access to beta features.” Backend functions are listed from Builder up in the billing documentation.
Two things the homepage does not say: it does not mention mobile apps or app stores, and it does not state ownership or export terms for the code. Both are covered in the documentation sections below, where the docs speak.
The store app: a web view around your published app
The page docs.base44.com/…/uploading-to-app-stores is the source for what the App Store and Google Play app is.
Architecture. “Your mobile app runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view. This is a lightweight native wrapper around your web app that opens only your app’s URL.” Updates you make in Base44 “also appear in your app without sending a new version to the Apple App Store or Google Play.”
Steps. Create your Apple and Google developer accounts; run Base44’s scan against the store guidelines; fix the flagged items in the AI chat; generate the IPA (iOS) and AAB (Android) files; submit them through App Store Connect and the Play Console. “Base44 helps you prepare your app for submission, but does not create or manage your developer accounts.”
Plan gate. “You can run the scan to prepare your app for stores on the Free plan, but to download the files for app submission you must be on the Builder plan or higher.” Builder is $40 a month billed annually on the pricing page.
Push notifications. Supported, with setup: “You turn them on in the same window where you generate your store files, then upload credentials from your Apple Developer account or your own Firebase project.” Existing installs receive push “after you generate new app files and submit an updated version.”
Stated limits. “Full offline mode and HealthKit are not supported yet.”
Digital purchases. “Apple and Google require their own billing systems for digital content. If your app uses Stripe for digital content, your app is rejected.” The documented workaround is to sell on the web version and have the app check payment status.
Native app vs web app sets out what a web view can and cannot reach on the phone; the short version is that the app is one web page rendered in a browser component, so camera, files and notifications go through what the wrapper exposes, and screens do not use SwiftUI or Jetpack Compose components.
Credits: what they meter and when they expire
Two meters run at once. Message credits are “used when you interact with Base44’s AI while building apps.” Integration credits are “used whenever your app uses Base44’s built-in services, such as sending an email, generating an image, running an LLM call.” The second meter runs while your users use the app, not only while you build it.
The cost of a message is not fixed; the documentation says it “is worked out after each message runs.” Expiry is stated plainly: “Unused monthly credits expire at the end of your credit cycle and do not carry over to the next month.” Paid credits “reset monthly on your reset date, which is the same day of the month you subscribed.” When message credits run out, “you cannot send new messages in the AI chat until you have message credits again”; the pricing page says “you can top up at any time.”
For planning: count the edits, not the features. A twentieth spacing change and a fifth retry on a failing flow each cost a message; the free plan’s 25 monthly message credits cover a first prototype, not iteration.
GitHub sync, local development and ownership
“GitHub 2 way sync requires the Builder plan or higher.” The documentation describes the sync as two-way: “Connect your app to GitHub to write code in your local development environment or in Base44 and keep them in sync with each other.” Local development “starts a local Base44 backend and your frontend dev server together”; the base44 dev --remote command runs “against your app’s live hosted backend.”
What this means for leaving: the React front-end can live in your GitHub repository from Builder up; the backend — database, authentication, functions, integrations — is Base44’s service, run locally through Base44’s tooling or against Base44’s hosting. Neither the homepage nor the GitHub page states code-ownership or export terms in so many words; the mechanism that is stated is the sync. The code-export guide lists export terms across builders plan by plan.
Workspaces and roles
The workspace documentation lists five roles. Owner: “Has full control over the whole workspace, including billing, members, settings, apps, and credits.” Admin: manages members and settings, Enterprise plans only. Editor: creates and edits the apps they are invited to. Viewer: “Views only the specific apps they are invited to. Cannot edit apps, use the AI chat, or access most of the app dashboard.” Guest: invited to specific apps.
Seats are not priced separately: “Everyone you invite uses the workspace’s shared plan and credits. They do not need their own paid plan to access what you give them in your workspace.” Access is per app: “you need to invite them as a collaborator on each app you want them to access.” Seat limits per plan are not stated on the pages we read. Because every editor draws from the same credit pool, a team’s iteration rate is bounded by the workspace’s monthly credits, not by headcount.
Who Base44 fits, and who should look elsewhere
Base44 fits a person or team building a web product — an internal tool, a portal, a marketplace, a content app — who wants database, authentication, hosting, payments and a store listing from one platform, and whose phone app can be the same web app inside a wrapper. The updates-without-resubmission property is a real operational advantage for content-driven apps.
Look elsewhere if the phone app needs full offline mode or HealthKit (listed as not supported), the platform’s own UI components and navigation, or a codebase an iOS or Android developer can open in Xcode or Android Studio. A web view renders one page; it does not produce Swift or Kotlin.
The native route, stated briefly: Modaal is a Mac app; the coding agent you already pay for — Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, Copilot or Cursor — writes a plan you approve, then real Swift and SwiftUI for iPhone and Kotlin and Jetpack Compose for Android from one project; the result is an Xcode project and an Android Studio project in Git on your Mac. There is no credit meter; the free plan is one project on one platform with unlimited prompts; Pro is €9 per user per month billed annually (€15 monthly) for both platforms and store distribution — pricing. It requires a Mac and does not host a backend for you; you connect the backend you choose. The cheapest way to build a mobile app sets out the cost routes; the no-code mobile builders guide covers the other wrapper and PWA builders by what they output.
Base44 plans, from base44.com/pricing on 13 September 2026
Annual-billing prices as shown on the page; the page states “Annual billing offers a 20% discount.” Monthly-billing prices were not shown on the page we read.
| Plan | Price (annual billing) | Message credits / mo | Integration credits / mo | Listed features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 25 | 100 | “Core Base44 Features”, “Up to 5 apps”, “Authentication, database functionality, analytics”; store scan yes, store files no |
| Starter | $16 / mo | 100 | 2,000 | “Unlimited number of apps”, “In-app code edits”, “Connect a domain”, “AI model select” |
| Builder | $40 / mo | 250 | 10,000 | Starter + “Free domain for 1 year”, “Github integration”, “Early access to beta features”; store files download from here |
| Pro | $80 / mo | 500 | 20,000 | Same list as Builder |
| Elite | $160 / mo | 1,200 | 50,000 | Builder + “Premium support” |
Credits: “Unused monthly credits expire at the end of your credit cycle and do not carry over to the next month” (docs.base44.com, Credits). Apple Developer Program and Google Play developer accounts are paid by you: “You are responsible for setting up and paying for your Apple and Google developer accounts.”
Base44 beside two other routes to a store app
| Base44 | Modaal | Emergent | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What the store app is | “a lightweight native wrapper around your web app that opens only your app’s URL” | Native SwiftUI (iPhone) + Kotlin/Compose (Android), one shared core | Expo (React Native) app; “Not Supported: … native Kotlin, native Swift” |
| Backend | Base44 hosted: database, auth, functions, integrations | Your choice; the project is a plain Xcode / Android Studio repo | FastAPI + MongoDB, hosted by Emergent |
| Store files | IPA / AAB generated by Base44, Builder plan or higher | Built on your Mac; TestFlight and App Store distribution on Pro | Built and submitted by EAS |
| Mac required | Not stated as required | Yes | No |
| Billing | Credits, two meters; unused credits expire monthly | Per seat, flat; no credits — your own AI subscription | Credits; rollover not stated |
| Code in your repo | React front-end via GitHub two-way sync, Builder+ | On your disk from the first build | Download + GitHub sync |
| Team | Owner / Editor / Viewer / Guest on a shared credit pool; per-app invites | Per-seat; Git collaboration on Pro | “teams can collaborate”; roles not stated |
| Offline / HealthKit | “Full offline mode and HealthKit are not supported yet.” | Platform APIs, available to any native project | Not stated on the pages we read |
Base44 from base44.com and docs.base44.com, 13 September 2026; Modaal from docs.modaal.dev; Emergent from emergent.sh and help.emergent.sh, 13 September 2026.
Frequently asked questions
It builds web apps and packages them for the stores as a web view: “Your mobile app runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view.” That fits content-driven and form-driven products that are web apps first. It does not fit apps that need full offline mode or HealthKit (listed as not supported) or the platform’s own UI components.
On 13 September 2026, annual billing: Free $0 (25 message credits a month, up to 5 apps); Starter $16 a month; Builder $40; Pro $80; Elite $160. The page states a 20% discount for annual billing; monthly-billing prices were not shown on the page we read.
No. The Credits documentation states: “Unused monthly credits expire at the end of your credit cycle and do not carry over to the next month.” Top-ups are available at any time.
Builder or higher: “to download the files for app submission you must be on the Builder plan or higher.” The scan runs on the Free plan. You also pay for your own Apple and Google developer accounts.
Yes, with setup. The docs: “You turn them on in the same window where you generate your store files, then upload credentials from your Apple Developer account or your own Firebase project.”
Not for digital content. Base44’s docs: “Apple and Google require their own billing systems for digital content. If your app uses Stripe for digital content, your app is rejected.” The docs describe selling on the web version and having the app check payment status.
The stated mechanism is GitHub two-way sync, which “requires the Builder plan or higher”; the front-end is React. Local development runs a local Base44 backend or connects to the hosted one. Ownership and export terms in so many words are not stated on the pages we read.
Yes. Roles are Owner, Admin (Enterprise), Editor, Viewer and Guest; collaborators are invited per app; “Everyone you invite uses the workspace’s shared plan and credits.” Seat limits per plan are not stated.
The site footer reads “© 2026 Wix.com Ltd. All rights reserved.” Base44’s docs also describe “Base44 Payments powered by Wix” and buying a domain with Wix.
A builder whose output is Swift/SwiftUI and Kotlin/Compose. Modaal writes both from one project with a plan you approve before code, no credit meter, and the projects in Git on your Mac; it requires a Mac and you bring your own backend.
Keep reading
- Replit alternatives for mobile apps (2026)
Ten alternatives sorted by what each one ships.
- Can Base44 make mobile apps? What its docs say
The yes/no page: the wrapper, push, the store steps.
- Native app vs web app
What a web view can and cannot reach on the phone.
- Emergent review (2026)
The other hosted, credit-metered route, reviewed from its own docs.
- AI app builder code export: which tools let you leave
Export terms plan by plan.
- Best no-code mobile app builders
Wrapper, PWA and React Native builders sorted by output.