Guide · 19 vendors, each quoted from its own pricing or docs page, 6 September 2026
AI app builder code export: which of 19 tools let you take your project with you — and what it costs
Every AI app builder says you own your code. Fewer say on which plan you can actually download it, and almost none say what you are downloading. This page answers both for nineteen tools, in the vendors’ own words, with the plan and the price — so you know the cost of leaving before you start.
Verified
The short version. Of nineteen builders, four give you the full project free from the start: Modaal, Bitrig, Replit, and Google AI Studio. Six document export on every plan including free or the cheapest tier, with a wrinkle or two: Lovable (GitHub on all plans; direct download paid), v0, Bolt, Vibecode, Newly, Superapp. Four put export behind a specific paid tier: Rork (any paid plan), RapidNative (Starter, $20/mo), FlutterFlow (Basic, $39/mo), CatDoes (Pro, $168/mo). Two say nothing on the page where it should be said: a0.dev and Nativeline (free tier). And three have no code export at all: Bubble, Adalo, Glide. The rest of this page is the evidence, and one question the summary can’t answer — what you get when you export, which decides whether the door leads anywhere.
Why export cost is the number to check first
Two questions sort every AI app builder, and neither is on the pricing page’s headline: on which plan can I publish, and on which plan can I leave? The second is the one people skip, because leaving feels far away when you are starting. It isn’t. You leave when the tool can’t do the next feature, when you hire an engineer, when the pricing changes, or when the company does. The cost of leaving is set on the day you sign up, by three things:
The plan gate. Some tools include export on the free tier; some require any paid plan; some require a specific tier well above the entry price. A $20 tool with export at $168 is a $168 tool the day you need your code.
The form. "Export" can mean a ZIP of a React web app, an Expo project, a Flutter project, or a real Xcode project. Those are not interchangeable: a web app exported from a web builder is still a web app, and turning it into a native iPhone app is a rebuild of the front, not a download — the Lovable-to-mobile guide is that rebuild, step by step.
Whether the tool still works after. Two-way GitHub sync (you edit locally, changes flow back) is a different product from a one-time ZIP. Both count as export; only one lets you keep using the builder while an engineer works alongside.
The table at the end has all nineteen on one screen. The entries below are the receipts.
Free from the start — the code is yours on day one
Modaal
Native Swift/SwiftUI for iPhone and Kotlin/Jetpack Compose for Android, generated as a standard Xcode project and Android Studio project on your own disk. There is no export step because there is nothing to export from: the free plan (one project, unlimited prompts) writes to your machine from the first feature, and any of 13 AI agents you already pay for does the writing — the bring-your-own-agent model. Entry price for the code: €0.
Bitrig
Swift, delivered as "full Xcode projects". Its pricing page lists "Export your code at any time" on the Free plan; Pro ($25/mo) adds no export capability beyond that. The other on-disk native tool in this list.
Replit
Its docs describe export on any plan without a gate: "Select the three-dot menu at the top of the file tree and choose Download as zip", or connect GitHub and enable two-way auto-sync. What you get depends on what you built — for mobile, an Expo/React Native project.
Google AI Studio
Android apps as Kotlin and Jetpack Compose. Google’s docs: "you can download the project as a ZIP file" to continue in Android Studio; "GitHub export is not yet available for Android projects." Free, with Gemini API billing beyond the free quota. Android only.
Export on every plan — with the wrinkle each vendor adds
Lovable
Its Git integration docs list "github.com (available on all plans)" — free tier included — with GitHub Enterprise variants on the Enterprise plan. Direct code download (no GitHub) is described as available on paid plans. What you export is a React and Vite web app; native iOS or Android is not an output.
v0 (Vercel)
FAQ: "Yes. Export the code to work locally or edit directly in v0." No plan restriction is stated for export or for connecting GitHub ("Git integration is optional"); team collaboration is what the paid tiers add. Output: React and Tailwind web interfaces.
Bolt
GitHub integration is documented ("Integrating your project with GitHub keeps you flexible") with no plan gate named anywhere in the docs — a documented capability with an undocumented tier, which is why the table says "no plan gate stated" rather than "free". Output: web first; Expo for mobile.
Vibecode
Docs: open the project in the web app, click "Download Code"; export and SSH to Cursor are documented as features with no plan requirement mentioned. Output: React Native and Expo. One quirk from their own page: downloading is web-app only, because Apple’s rules prevent it inside their iOS app.
Newly
The most explicit ownership statement in the list: "Yes — 100% ownership. There are no licensing fees, no revenue sharing, and no restrictions on how you use, modify, or distribute your code." Export via a GitHub repository with two-way sync, or a ZIP. There is no free tier — plans start at $25/mo — so "every plan" means every paid plan. Output: React Native with TypeScript, Expo SDK.
Superapp
Its features page: "you can export the full Xcode project on any plan and take it with you" and "the export is the same real Xcode project whether you leave on day one or year three." Free tier is 5 credits a day; the Mac version keeps code on disk, the web version in the cloud. Output: native Swift, iOS/macOS/watchOS; their Product Hunt listing also mentions a React Native Expo path. Credit them: this is more generous than several better-funded tools.
Export behind a paid tier — the price of the door
Rork
Docs, verbatim: "Paid users own all generated code." Export is via GitHub after subscribing to a paid plan; free users cannot export. Paid plans start at $25/mo (Junior); the native Swift output is a Rork Max feature at $200/mo, and whether Max projects export the same way is not stated on the export page. Two-way GitHub sync once you are paid. Output: React Native/Expo on standard plans, SwiftUI on Max.
RapidNative
Pricing page: "React Native code export functionality is available starting with the Starter plan ($20/month)." The free tier does not export; "Git integration" is listed as Coming Soon on every tier. Ownership line: "You own 100% of the code you generate." Output: React Native and Expo.
FlutterFlow
"Code Download" and "APK Download" first appear on Basic, $39/mo; the Free tier has no code export. GitHub integration is a Growth feature ($80 first seat) — and it pushes to a FlutterFlow-owned branch. Output: Flutter and Dart.
CatDoes
The pricing comparison shows code export as "Included" on Pro, $168/mo, "Not included" on Starter ($42), and "Doesn’t Support" on Free. Core ($17), Plus ($84) and Max ($399) are not in the comparison table, so their export status is unstated on the page. Two-way GitHub sync is also Pro. Output: Expo React Native.
Not documented — the gap is the finding
a0.dev
Its documentation index covers prompting, testing, push notifications, payments, OTA updates and App Store publishing — and has no page about exporting code, GitHub, or downloading the project. That is not an accusation; it is what the docs contain as of 6 September 2026. Ask before you build.
Nativeline
A Mac app producing SwiftUI. Its pricing page says "You own your code forever" on the Builder plan ($25/mo) and lists a "Full code editor" from Pro ($50/mo); the site advertises a free trial with no card. What the page does not state is whether the free tier lets you take the project out. Given it is a Mac app, the answer may well be yes — but "may well be" is not a source.
No export — the app lives on the platform
Bubble
Bubble’s own documentation: "there's no way of exporting your application as code." Mobile is a React Native add-on in public beta; the web app is hosted by Bubble and stays there. This is a deliberate architecture, not an omission, and Bubble is candid about it.
Adalo
The pricing page (Free, Starter $36, Professional $52, Team $160) lists publishing to both stores from $36/mo and no code export at any tier. Marketing describes "True IPA output"; developer docs say custom components require writing React Native. No export is documented.
Glide
Progressive web apps, hosted by Glide; the docs state Glide does not support App Store or Google Play publishing. The pricing page lists "View code and project files" only under project-level roles and permissions, and no export or download. Free, Basic $25, Plus $50, Pro $125.
For these three, the honest framing is that the platform is the product: you are renting a running app, and the cost of leaving is a rebuild. That can be the right trade for internal tools and content apps. It is the wrong trade for anything you plan to hand to an engineer.
What you actually get when you export
The plan gate answers "can I leave"; the output answers "where can I go." Sorted by what lands in the ZIP or the repo:
A web app (Lovable, v0, Bolt without Expo): portable to any host, and a real starting point for a product — but it is not a mobile app. The path to the stores is either a wrapper with its review risks or a native rebuild of the front on top of the same backend.
An Expo / React Native project (Replit, Bolt with Expo, Vibecode, Newly, RapidNative, CatDoes, Rork standard, a0.dev): one JavaScript codebase that compiles to both stores through a bridge. Any React Native developer can pick it up; the React Native vs native trade-offs come with it.
A Flutter project (FlutterFlow): Dart, cross-platform, its own ecosystem of developers — smaller than React Native’s, larger than most people assume.
A native Xcode project (Modaal, Bitrig, Superapp, Nativeline, Rork Max): Swift and SwiftUI that any iOS engineer opens in Xcode without a translation layer. Modaal adds the Android Studio project in Kotlin from the same project — the only entry in the list where "export" means both native codebases.
A native Android Studio project (Google AI Studio, Modaal): Kotlin and Jetpack Compose.
The reason to check this before the price: an engineer you hire in year two will quote you very differently for "here is our Xcode project" than for "here is our platform export." The four questions for choosing a builder put this one second, right after "does it build a real app at all."
All 19, one screen
| Builder | Export on which plan | Cost of the door | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modaal | All plans incl. Free — code is on your disk from the first feature | €0 | Xcode project (Swift) + Android Studio project (Kotlin) |
| Bitrig | Free — "Export your code at any time" | $0 | Xcode project (Swift) |
| Replit | All plans — "Download as zip" or GitHub sync | $0 | Expo / React Native (mobile), web |
| Google AI Studio | Free — ZIP download; no GitHub for Android yet | $0 | Android Studio project (Kotlin) |
| Lovable | GitHub on all plans incl. Free; direct download paid | $0 (GitHub) / from $25 (download) | React + Vite web app |
| v0 (Vercel) | "Export the code to work locally" — no plan gate stated | $0 | React + Tailwind web |
| Bolt | GitHub documented — no plan gate stated | Not stated | Web; Expo for mobile |
| Vibecode | "Download Code" in web app — no plan gate stated | Not stated | React Native / Expo |
| Newly | Every plan — no free tier | from $25/mo | React Native / Expo (TypeScript) |
| Superapp | "on any plan" — Free is 5 credits/day | $0 | Xcode project (Swift) |
| Rork | Any paid plan; Free cannot export | from $25/mo (Swift output needs Max, $200/mo) | React Native / Expo; SwiftUI on Max |
| RapidNative | Starter and up; Free cannot export; Git "Coming Soon" | $20/mo | React Native / Expo |
| FlutterFlow | Basic and up; Free has no export; GitHub from Growth | $39/mo ($80 for GitHub) | Flutter / Dart |
| CatDoes | Pro ("Included"); Starter "Not included"; Core/Plus/Max not listed | $168/mo | Expo React Native |
| a0.dev | Not documented — no export page in docs | Unknown | React Native / Expo |
| Nativeline | "You own your code forever" on Builder; Free not stated | $25/mo (stated) | Xcode project (Swift) |
| Bubble | No export — "there's no way of exporting your application as code" | A rebuild | Hosted web app; RN add-on in beta |
| Adalo | No code export documented | A rebuild | Hosted app; publishes IPA/AAB |
| Glide | No export documented; PWA hosted by Glide | A rebuild | Progressive web app |
Every cell from the vendor’s own pricing or documentation page, fetched 6 September 2026. "Not stated" means the vendor documents export but names no tier; "Not documented" means no page says either way. Prices in the currency each vendor publishes; check current pages before deciding.
Frequently asked questions
Yes. Lovable’s Git integration docs list github.com as "available on all plans", including free; direct code download without GitHub is described for paid plans. What you export is a React and Vite web app — not a native iOS or Android app.
No. Rork’s docs state "Paid users own all generated code" and describe export through the GitHub integration after subscribing to a paid plan, from $25/mo. Native Swift output is a Rork Max feature at $200/mo.
Bubble ("there’s no way of exporting your application as code", per its docs), Adalo (no export at any tier on its pricing page), and Glide (hosted progressive web apps; no export documented). For these the cost of leaving is a rebuild.
Modaal (Xcode and Android Studio projects on your disk, free plan included), Bitrig ("Export your code at any time" on Free), Replit ("Download as zip" on any plan), and Google AI Studio (ZIP download of the Android project). Superapp also states export "on any plan", with a 5-credit-a-day free tier.
Only if what you exported is native. A web app export (Lovable, v0, Bolt) is still a web app; an Expo/React Native export compiles to the stores through a bridge; a Flutter export needs Flutter developers. An Xcode project (Modaal, Bitrig, Superapp, Nativeline, Rork Max) is Swift that any iOS engineer opens directly. Check the form before the plan.
No — there is no export step. Modaal is a Mac app that writes real Swift and Kotlin into a standard Xcode project and Android Studio project on your own disk from the first feature, on the free plan (one project, unlimited prompts) as much as on Pro. The AI is the agent subscription you already have; Modaal adds no credits or per-token charges.
Keep reading
- Cross-platform app builders in 2026: what each one ships
Ten builders sorted by output — web shell, React Native, Flutter, or native.
- AI app builder alternatives — the full comparison
Output, platforms, entry price, and export cost for all nineteen.
- How to choose an AI mobile app builder
The four questions that sort wrapper tools from native tools.
- Bring your own agent: how BYOA tools work
Why the code sits on your disk when the agent is yours.
- Migrate a Lovable app to a mobile app
What an exported web app becomes on the way to the stores.