Review · every Emergent fact quoted from emergent.sh or help.emergent.sh, 13 September 2026

    Emergent review (2026): what it builds for mobile, in its own words

    Emergent builds web and mobile apps from a conversation, hosts them, and bills by credits. Its help centre states the mobile stack: Expo (React Native), with Flutter, native Kotlin and native Swift listed as not supported. Its marketing page describes the output as native iOS and Android apps. This review quotes both, explains what an Expo app is, and covers credits, export, hosting, store submission and team use — each from Emergent’s own pages — so a reader can decide whether Emergent is the right route to a mobile app.

    Verified

    The short answer. Emergent is a credit-metered, hosted builder for web and mobile apps. For mobile, its help centre states: “Emergent supports cross-platform mobile app development using Expo (React Native framework),” with “Supported: Expo/React Native only” and “Not Supported: Flutter, native Kotlin, native Swift.” Store builds and submission go through Expo Application Services; no Mac is required; the mobile agent is on paid plans from $20 a month; code can be downloaded and synced to GitHub; the backend (FastAPI, MongoDB) is hosted by Emergent.

    Choose Emergent if you want one hosted tool for a web app and an Expo mobile app, you do not have a Mac, and a credit meter fits how you work. Choose another route if you want native SwiftUI and Compose output, the code on your own disk from the first build, or unmetered iteration. Emergent vs Lovable compares Emergent with the best-known web builder; this page reviews Emergent on its own.

    What Emergent is, from its own pages

    The homepage tagline is “Build Full-Stack Web & mobile apps in minutes.” The help centre fixes the stack for a mobile project: “Frontend: Expo (React Native)”, “Backend: FastAPI”, “Database: MongoDB.” The product FAQ states that hosting is included: “No, the platform handles hosting, performance, and infrastructure so you can focus on building your app.”

    Billing is credits. From the pricing page on 13 September 2026: Free is $0 with “10 free monthly credits”; Standard is $20 a month ($17 a month billed annually) with “100 credits per month”, “Purchase extra credits as needed”, “GitHub integration” and “Build web & mobile apps”; Pro is $200 a month ($167 annual) with “750 Monthly Credits”; Business and Enterprise are custom. The pricing page does not state whether unused credits roll over or expire.

    Ownership is stated on the homepage: “You own all the code Emergent generates. We can integrate with GitHub for version control, and you’re free to download, modify, or host your applications anywhere you choose.”

    The mobile route, as the help centre describes it

    The page help.emergent.sh/mobile-app-development is the primary source for what a mobile project is and how it ships.

    Stack. “Emergent supports cross-platform mobile app development using Expo (React Native framework).” The supported/not-supported list reads: “Supported: Expo/React Native only” and “Not Supported: Flutter, native Kotlin, native Swift.”

    Availability. “Mobile Agent only available on paid plans ($20+/month).” The free plan does not build mobile apps.

    Preview. You start the development server and “Scan QR code with: Expo Go app (iOS/Android), Camera app (iOS).” The app runs in Expo Go on your phone during development.

    Store submission. “EAS (Expo Application Services) handles building and submitting your app to stores.” Developer accounts are yours: “Google Play: $25 one-time” and “Apple App Store: $99/year.”

    Mac. “No Mac needed — EAS builds iOS apps in the cloud. You don’t need a Mac or Xcode.”

    Code. “Download your complete project” is listed under the deploy steps, and GitHub integration is on the Standard plan.

    Read together: an Emergent mobile app is an Expo project, previewed in Expo Go, built and submitted by EAS under your own store accounts, with the backend hosted by Emergent.

    What the marketing page says, and what the help centre says

    The page emergent.sh/ai-app-builder describes the mobile output as native: “Create fully functional native Android apps with adaptive layouts, optimized performance across devices, and export-ready builds for seamless Google Play Store submission” and “Create high-quality native iOS apps effortlessly with smooth performance, optimized compatibility across iPhones and iPads, and export-ready builds for seamless App Store publishing.”

    The help centre, quoted above, lists “native Kotlin, native Swift” under “Not Supported.”

    What an Expo app is, so the two pages can be read side by side: the app’s logic is JavaScript executed on the device; the screens are written once and rendered on both platforms through React Native’s components; platform features reach the app through Expo modules and community wrappers. The output installs from the App Store and Google Play like any other app. It is not a Swift or Kotlin codebase, and an iOS or Android developer opens an Expo project as a JavaScript project. Whether that counts as “native” for your purpose is your decision; the help centre’s wording is the one to plan against. React Native vs native covers what each output can and cannot do on the phone.

    Credits: how the meter works

    Emergent charges per credit; the pricing page lists 10 credits a month on Free, 100 on Standard, 750 on Pro, and “Purchase extra credits as needed.” The mobile agent requires a paid plan. Two things the pricing page does not state: how many credits a typical build or edit consumes, and whether unused credits roll over at the end of a month. Ask support for both before you plan a project, and treat iteration — the twentieth spacing change, the fifth retry on a failing build — as the cost driver. For a comparison of credit models across mobile builders, the Anything alternatives page lists each vendor’s expiry or rollover rule in the vendor’s words.

    Export, GitHub and hosting: what leaves with you

    The code. The homepage sentence is unambiguous: “You own all the code Emergent generates”, with download and GitHub integration (Standard plan and up). The mobile project downloads as an Expo project; a React Native developer can continue it.

    The backend. The help centre fixes the backend as FastAPI with MongoDB, and the FAQ states that Emergent handles hosting. The pages do not describe exporting the hosted database or moving the backend elsewhere. Before relying on Emergent for a product, confirm with support what a full export of data and backend includes.

    Store accounts. Yours — the $25 Google Play and $99 Apple fees are paid by you, so the app identity and listing follow your accounts if you later build elsewhere.

    The code-export guide records builders’ export terms plan by plan.

    Team use

    The product FAQ answers “Can multiple people work on the same app?” with “Yes, teams can collaborate on building and managing apps, making it easier to work across roles.” Editor counts, roles, branching and a review step are not stated on the pages we read. Ask before buying seats for a team.

    Who Emergent fits, and who should look elsewhere

    Emergent fits a person or team that wants a web app and a mobile app from one hosted tool, does not own a Mac, accepts the Expo output, and works at a pace where 100 or 750 credits a month is enough. The EAS path removes the Mac requirement and the local toolchain; hosting is handled.

    Look elsewhere if you need native SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose output (the help centre lists native Swift and Kotlin as not supported); you want the project on your own disk in Xcode and Android Studio from the first build; you want unmetered iteration; or you need the backend under your own control from day one.

    The native route, stated briefly: Modaal is a Mac app; the coding agent you already pay for — Claude Code, Codex, Gemini, Copilot or Cursor — writes a plan you approve, then real Swift and SwiftUI for iPhone and Kotlin and Jetpack Compose for Android from one project; the result is an Xcode project and an Android Studio project in Git on your Mac. There is no credit meter; the free plan is one project on one platform with unlimited prompts; Pro is €9 per user per month billed annually (€15 monthly) for both platforms and store distribution — pricing. It requires a Mac, which Emergent does not. The cheapest way to build a mobile app sets out the cost routes; the cross-platform builder guide sorts ten tools by what they output.

    Emergent beside two other mobile routes

    EmergentModaalRork
    Mobile output“Expo/React Native only”; “Not Supported: Flutter, native Kotlin, native Swift”Native SwiftUI + Kotlin/Compose, one shared coreNative Swift + Kotlin, separate apps
    BackendFastAPI + MongoDB, hosted by EmergentYour choice; the project is a plain Xcode / Android Studio repoCheck vendor docs
    PreviewExpo Go on your phoneSimulator or your device, on your MacCheck vendor docs
    Store submission“EAS handles building and submitting your app to stores”; your $25 / $99 accountsTestFlight and App Store distribution on Pro; your own accountsCheck vendor docs; your own accounts
    Mac requiredNo — “EAS builds iOS apps in the cloud”YesCheck vendor requirements
    BillingCredits: 10 Free · 100 Standard $20 · 750 Pro $200; rollover not statedPer seat, flat; no credits — your own AI subscriptionCredits per month
    Code export“You own all the code”; download + GitHub (Standard+)On your disk from the first build“Paid users own all generated code”, via GitHub
    Mobile on the free planNo — “Mobile Agent only available on paid plans”Yes — one project, one platform, unlimited promptsNo — design mode only

    Emergent from emergent.sh and help.emergent.sh, 13 September 2026; Modaal from docs.modaal.dev; Rork from docs.rork.com, 10–12 September 2026.

    Frequently asked questions

    Its help centre says the mobile stack is Expo (React Native) and lists native Kotlin and native Swift as not supported; its marketing page describes the output as native iOS and Android apps. An Expo app installs from the stores and runs on both platforms; its code is JavaScript, not Swift or Kotlin. Plan against the help centre’s wording.

    No. The help centre states “Mobile Agent only available on paid plans ($20+/month).” The free plan has 10 monthly credits for web projects.

    No. The help centre states “EAS builds iOS apps in the cloud. You don’t need a Mac or Xcode.” You still need your own Apple Developer account ($99/year) and, for Android, a Google Play developer account ($25 one-time).

    On 13 September 2026: Free $0 with 10 monthly credits; Standard $20 a month ($17 annual) with 100 credits and GitHub integration; Pro $200 a month ($167 annual) with 750 credits; Business and Enterprise custom. Extra credits can be purchased. The pricing page does not state whether unused credits roll over.

    Yes. The homepage states “You own all the code Emergent generates” and that you can download it or sync to GitHub (Standard plan and up). The mobile project is an Expo project. Exporting the hosted backend and database is not described on the pages we read; confirm with support.

    Per the help centre, “EAS (Expo Application Services) handles building and submitting your app to stores,” using your own developer accounts.

    The FAQ says “teams can collaborate on building and managing apps.” Editor counts, roles, branches and review are not stated on the pages we read.

    A builder whose output is the platform’s own toolkit. Modaal writes native SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose from one project with a plan you approve before code, no credit meter, and the project in Git on your Mac; it requires a Mac. Rork writes native Swift and Kotlin as two separate apps, credit-metered.

    Start free. Ship native.

    One project, unlimited prompts. No card.

    Keep reading