Comparison
A Rork alternative for native iOS, without the $200 Max tier
Rork Max writes real native Swift. So does Modaal. The difference is $200 a month against a free plan with no prompt limit — and whether the project is yours from the first build or an export you request later.
$200/mo
Rork’s entry price for native iOS (Rork Max)
Free
Modaal’s entry price for native iOS
35
Credits per month on Rork’s free plan
Unlimited
Prompts per month on Modaal’s free plan
Rork figures from docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions, checked 30 August 2026. Modaal figures from docs.modaal.dev/credits-and-plans.
The short answer
If you do not own a Mac, use Rork. If you do, Modaal builds the same native Swift without the $200 tier.
Use Rork if
- You do not own a Mac. Rork builds in the cloud and submits to App Store Connect for you. Modaal cannot do this and never will — it drives Xcode, and Xcode is macOS only.
- You have no AI subscription and want one bill. Rork bundles the inference into its credits.
- You want the build and the submission managed end to end for a first, simple app.
Use Modaal if
- You have a Mac and already pay for Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or Copilot. Modaal runs on the subscription you already have.
- You do not want your debugging metered. There is no credit that ticks down when a build fails.
- The app might become a business. The project is a standard Xcode project in your own repo from the first build.
Modaal is our product, so read this page knowing that. Every claim about Rork below is quoted from Rork’s own documentation with the source named, and the places where Rork is the better tool are marked as such rather than argued away.
What Rork Max actually is, and what $200 buys
Most people who search for a Rork alternative are really searching for a Rork Max alternative, because Max is the tier where native iOS lives. It is worth being precise about what it is.
Rork Max starts at $200 a month. Rork's documentation describes it as "Everything in Rork Pro, plus native iOS and the rest of the Apple devices" — iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro. Their FAQ is equally clear about the output: "Rork Max uses SwiftUI, Apple's own native framework, compiled with Xcode, the same toolchain behind every app in the App Store."
That is a real native app. We are not going to pretend otherwise, and any comparison page telling you Rork Max produces a web wrapper is describing something that does not exist.
Three things about Max are worth knowing before you pay for it.
The $200 is for 1,000 credits, not for unlimited use. Rork's tiers run $200 for 1,000 credits, $500 for 2,500, $900 for 5,000 and $1,800 for 10,000. Rork defines a credit as "a unit of AI compute, roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app." Divide the entry tier and each build-or-edit request costs twenty cents. That is arithmetic on two numbers Rork publishes itself, not a criticism.
You cannot top up. Rork's FAQ states: "There is currently no way to buy additional credits separately." If you run out mid-project, the documented options are to move up a whole tier or "wait until your credits reset on the monthly anniversary of your first purchase." On Max the next tier up is $500.
A Max app is iOS-only. Their FAQ: "Rork Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play." So the $200 tier is not the tier that gives you both platforms in one app — it is the tier that gives you Apple.
Modaal builds the same native SwiftUI, compiled through the same Xcode, on a free plan with one active project and no cap on prompts. Pro is €9 a month billed annually — €15 monthly — and adds unlimited projects, iOS and Android together, and App Store distribution.
Why people move off Rork
These are not complaints we have collected. They are the limits Rork publishes about itself, in its own documentation, as of 30 August 2026. Each one sends a different kind of person looking for something else.
Native iOS costs $200 a month
Rork Pro at $20 does not include it. Native iOS is a Rork Max feature and Max starts at $200. For a solo founder that is the difference between a tool you expense and a tool you have to justify.
The free plan does not build apps
Rork Free is web apps only, on public projects, with 35 credits a month — and their docs specify 35 "in major markets; 5/month elsewhere," capped at 5 a day. You cannot evaluate whether the native output is any good without paying $200 first.
You cannot buy more credits
Straight from their FAQ: "There is currently no way to buy additional credits separately." Hit the cap in week three and you either jump a whole tier or stop until the reset.
Debugging draws down the same meter as building
A credit is spent on a request where Rork "builds or edits your app." Fixing something costs what making it cost. The money is small; the hesitation is the problem.
The iOS app cannot go to Google Play
"Rork Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play." If you assumed the $200 tier was the one that covered both platforms, it is not.
Their own pages disagree about Android
Rork's subscriptions documentation says Rork Pro delivers "Native Android apps with Kotlin + Compose." Rork's FAQ says "Rork Pro uses React Native and Expo." Both are live right now. We cannot resolve it from outside and we are not going to guess — but if native Android is why you are buying, ask them before you do.
Rork’s pricing, explained
Rork prices by credits, in three tiers, each of which unlocks different output. This is the part most comparison articles get wrong, so here it is straight from their subscriptions page.
| Plan | Price | Credits / month | What it builds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 35 in "major markets", 5 elsewhere (5/day cap) | Web apps only. Projects are public. |
| Pro | $20 | 100 | Disputed — see footnote 3. Not native SwiftUI iOS. |
| Pro | $100 | 500 | Same as above |
| Max | $200 | 1,000 | Everything in Pro, plus native iOS, iPad, Watch, Vision Pro |
| Max | $500 | 2,500 | Same as above |
| Max | $900 | 5,000 | Same as above |
| Max | $1,800 | 10,000 | Same as above |
- A credit is defined by Rork as "a unit of AI compute, roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app."
- Additional credits cannot be purchased separately. When you run out you upgrade a tier or wait for the monthly reset.
- What Rork Pro builds is genuinely unclear, and it affects iOS as well as Android. Rork's subscriptions page says Pro builds "Native Android apps with Kotlin + Compose". Rork's FAQ says Pro "uses React Native and Expo" and builds "cross-platform apps with Expo that run on both iOS and Android". So Pro may well produce an iOS app — just not a native SwiftUI one, which is Max only. Both statements are live. We have quoted both rather than picking one.
- Modaal, for comparison: free plan with one active project, unlimited prompts and native iOS or Android. Pro €9/month billed annually or €15 monthly, for unlimited projects, both platforms and App Store distribution.
docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions and rork.com/faq, checked 30 August 2026.
Modaal and Rork, side by side
Verified against both products’ own documentation, 30 August 2026.
| Modaal | Rork | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price for native iOSNative SwiftUI is a Max-tier feature. What Rork Pro builds is described differently on Rork’s own two pages — see below. | Free — or €9 / month billed annually for Pro (€15 monthly) | Rork Max, from $200 / month |
| How usage is metered | Flat seat. No credits, no per-token charge, no cap on prompts. | 1,000 credits on the $200 Max tier. A credit is "roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app." |
| Running out mid-project | Cannot happen — nothing is metered | "There is currently no way to buy additional credits separately." Upgrade a tier, or wait for the reset. |
| Who pays for inferenceBundled is simpler if you have no AI subscription. Cheaper if you already do. | Your existing Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or Copilot subscription | Bundled into Rork’s credits |
| Mac required | Yes — macOS with Xcode 26+ and roughly 50 GB free | No — Rork builds on its own machines |
| Where your project lives | A standard Xcode project on your own disk from day one | In Rork; paid users export to GitHub with two-way sync |
| Code ownership | Yours. Open it in Xcode, add packages, ship through your own CI. | "Paid users own all generated code" — the free tier has no export |
| App Store submissionBoth require your own Apple Developer account. | You submit, through Xcode and App Store Connect | Managed — Rork uploads the build for you |
| Choice of AI model | Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Gemini CLI, GitHub Copilot, Auggie, Cline, Goose, Kilo Code, Mistral Vibe, OpenHands and Qwen Code. Switch any time. | Rork’s own agent |
| Architecture for apps that grow | RIBs module tree with protocol boundaries on the production template | Not documented |
| One app on both stores | Pro covers iOS and Android on one subscription | "Rork Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play." |
| Android outputTheir subscriptions page and FAQ still describe this differently as of 30 August 2026. | Native Kotlin and Compose. Open beta, on the free plan. | Their docs say native Kotlin + Compose; their FAQ says React Native and Expo. Ask them. |
| Free tier | Real native iOS or Android app. 1 project, unlimited prompts, export included. No expiry. | Web apps only, public projects, 35 credits a month |
Which one you actually want
| If you | We recommend | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You do not own a Mac | Rork | Modaal drives Xcode, and Xcode only runs on macOS. Rork builds in the cloud and hands the build to App Store Connect for you. This is a real capability gap and no framing closes it. |
| You already pay for Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or Copilot | Modaal | You are already paying for the inference. Modaal runs on that plan and charges a flat seat on top, so building more does not cost more. On Rork every build and edit draws down credits regardless of what else you subscribe to. |
| You want to see the native output before paying | Modaal | Rork Free builds web apps only, so the native Swift you are evaluating sits behind the $200 Max tier. Modaal's free plan builds the actual native app, with no prompt cap and no card. |
| You are shipping one small app and want it live this week | Either, lean Rork | For a first, simple app the managed submission genuinely saves a day of App Store Connect wrangling. The tradeoff shows up later, when the app grows. |
| The app is a business, and other engineers will work on it | Modaal | You want a normal Xcode project in your own repo, with an architecture a human can navigate — not an export you request from a vendor. The production template scaffolds an explicit RIBs module tree so the tenth feature does not land in the same file as the first. |
| You need one app on both the App Store and Google Play | Neither, on Rork Max | Rork's FAQ states that "Rork Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play." Modaal Pro covers iOS and Android on one subscription, with Android in open beta. If you want one shared codebase across both rather than two native ones, you want React Native or Flutter, and neither of these tools is the answer. |
If neither of these is right for you
Most people arriving here are not choosing between exactly two tools. Here is where to look next, including the cases where the answer is not us.
| You are leaving Rork because… | Look at |
|---|---|
| Native iOS costs $200 a month | Modaal — free for one project, €9/month for everything |
| You do not own a Mac | Stay on Rork, or look at Superapp — both build in the cloud |
| You want one codebase across iOS and Android | Neither of these. Read the honest version of that tradeoff first |
| You only ever needed a web app | Lovable, Bolt or v0 — and here is why that is often the right call |
| You want to compare everything at once | The full table of AI app builders, with each vendor’s own claims quoted |
Wait — doesn’t Rork build React Native?
Not for new iOS projects, and this is the single most out-of-date claim in circulation about Rork. Their own documentation says it plainly: "Rork used to build Expo (React Native) apps. Internal benchmarks showed the agent writes better Swift apps, so we switched."
New Rork projects on Max are Swift and SwiftUI. Existing Expo projects still build and publish, but you cannot create new ones. If you are reading a comparison article that describes Rork as a React Native tool and stops there, it was written against a version of the product that no longer exists — and there are several of those ranking well right now.
So the old argument, native code versus a JavaScript wrapper, does not separate these two products any more. We are not going to run it. The differences that survive are commercial and structural: what native iOS costs, whether your work is metered, and where the project lives.
One wrinkle worth keeping straight, because Rork's two pages describe it differently: the FAQ says "Rork Pro uses React Native and Expo" while the subscriptions page says Rork Pro delivers "Native Android apps with Kotlin + Compose." The Max tier is unambiguously SwiftUI. The Pro tier, we genuinely cannot tell you.
Credits versus a flat seat
The money is not really the point, so let us deal with the money first and then get to what actually matters.
Rork Max at $200 includes 1,000 credits. A credit is "roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app." Twenty cents a request. For most people that is not an expensive tool — it is a reasonable tool with an unusual meter.
The meter is the problem. When a build breaks and you need six attempts to work out why, a metered tool turns every attempt into a small decision about whether to spend one. Six attempts is $1.20, which is nothing, and you will still hesitate on the fourth. Building software has enough friction without adding a tiny financial question to the moment you are already stuck. And because Rork's FAQ confirms there is "currently no way to buy additional credits separately," the hesitation gets sharper as the month goes on — the meter you are watching is one you cannot refill.
Modaal does not meter. You bring an agent you already pay for — Claude, Codex, Gemini, Copilot, Cursor, OpenCode and several others are supported — and authenticate it with your existing subscription. Modaal orchestrates it and charges a flat seat. If a feature takes forty iterations, it takes forty iterations, and the fortieth costs what the first did.
The honest caveat, and it is a real one: if you do not already subscribe to an AI assistant, Modaal is not free. You are paying for two things instead of one. Rork's bundled model is genuinely simpler for someone starting from zero, and if that is you, the credit meter may be a fair trade for a single bill.
Where your code lives when you stop paying
With Modaal there is no export step, because there is nothing to export from. Modaal is a macOS app that drives Xcode on your own machine. The project is a normal Xcode project in a normal folder on your own disk, from the first build. Open it in Xcode without Modaal running. Add Swift packages. Point your own CI at it. Hand it to a contractor. Modaal is the thing that helped you write it, not the place it lives.
Rork's position is reasonable and clearly stated: "Paid users own all generated code," exported through a two-way GitHub integration so you can edit locally and sync changes back. Two things are worth knowing before you rely on it. Export requires a paid plan, so the free tier gives you no way out at all. And Rork's export documentation does not specify the exact project format you receive — so if opening the result directly in Xcode matters to you, test that before you commit to a year.
We have seen it asserted elsewhere that Rork locks your projects when a subscription ends. We are not repeating that, because Rork's documentation does not say it and we could not verify it. If it matters to your decision, ask them.
What Rork does that Modaal cannot
Rork builds on its own machines and submits to App Store Connect for you. Their docs are explicit: "you do not need Xcode, a Mac, or any other build account." You sign in with your Apple Developer credentials, stay present for the two-factor code, and the build appears in App Store Connect.
If you are on Windows, a Chromebook or a Linux laptop, that is not a convenience — it is the entire product, and Modaal is not an option for you at any price. Modaal builds through Xcode and Xcode requires macOS. No amount of comparison-page framing closes that gap, so we are not going to try.
Rork has also shipped something genuinely novel: Rork Max as an iPhone app, for building and publishing from a phone. That is a real capability and nobody else on this list has it. One wrinkle if you go that route — the cloud build path needs no Mac, but installing to a physical device through the Rork Max app requires a one-time setup step on a Mac with Chrome or Edge. The "no Mac needed" claim is true of the cloud path and not of the on-device install path.
The part that shows up in month three
Any competent agent can produce a working screen. The question that decides whether a project survives is what the codebase looks like after fifty features have been added by something that does not remember last week.
Modaal scaffolds an explicit architecture up front and holds the agent to it. The production template uses RIBs — Uber's module pattern — giving you an explicit module tree, protocol boundaries between every module, and a navigation tree that is explicit in the router hierarchy. The quick-prototype template uses MVVM instead, keeping the module structure small enough that view models stay unit-testable.
One warning, because you should know it before you pick rather than after: migrating from MVVM to RIBs is a full rewrite, not a refactor. Choose the production template if there is any chance this becomes real.
There is also a Plan toggle. With Plan on, the agent produces a structured feature spec without writing code, and for new projects it first researches the architectural approach, confirms the key decisions with you, and writes a PRD documenting what the app does and what it is deliberately not doing yet. Then you turn Plan off and it implements against that spec, running a build-and-fix loop through Xcode after each step.
Rork's documentation does not describe an equivalent architectural commitment. That is an absence in their docs, which is not the same as an absence in their product — but if a stated architecture matters to you, only one of these two tools publishes one.
Frequently asked questions
Rork Max is Rork’s top subscription tier, starting at $200 a month, and it is the only tier that produces native iOS apps. Rork describes it as "Everything in Rork Pro, plus native iOS and the rest of the Apple devices" — iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro. Their FAQ says it "uses SwiftUI, Apple’s own native framework, compiled with Xcode." Confusingly, Rork Max is also the name of their iPhone app for building on the go.
It depends almost entirely on whether you own a Mac. If you do not, Rork Max is doing something no local tool can do — building native Swift in the cloud and submitting it for you — and $200 buys a capability you cannot otherwise have. If you do own a Mac, you are paying $200 a month for cloud build infrastructure you already have on your desk. The $200 includes 1,000 credits, where a credit is "roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app", and additional credits cannot be bought separately.
Rork Pro starts at $20 a month for 100 credits and does not build native iOS. Rork Max starts at $200 a month for 1,000 credits and adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro. What Pro builds for Android is genuinely unclear: Rork’s subscriptions page says "Native Android apps with Kotlin + Compose" while Rork’s FAQ says Pro "uses React Native and Expo". Both statements are live as of 30 August 2026 and we cannot resolve them from outside.
No. Rork’s FAQ states directly: "Rork Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play." If you expected the $200 tier to be the one that covers both stores, it is not. Modaal Pro covers native iOS and native Android on one €9/month subscription, with Android currently in open beta.
Free gives 35 credits a month — Rork’s docs specify 35 "in major markets; 5/month elsewhere", capped at 5 a day. Pro gives 100 credits at $20 or 500 at $100. Max gives 1,000 at $200, 2,500 at $500, 5,000 at $900, or 10,000 at $1,800. A credit is defined as "a unit of AI compute, roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app."
No. Rork’s FAQ says "There is currently no way to buy additional credits separately." Your documented options are to upgrade to a higher plan or "wait until your credits reset on the monthly anniversary of your first purchase." Modaal does not meter prompts at all, on any plan including free.
Not for new iOS projects. Rork’s documentation states: "Rork used to build Expo (React Native) apps. Internal benchmarks showed the agent writes better Swift apps, so we switched." New Rork Max projects are Swift and SwiftUI. Existing Expo projects continue to build and publish, but you cannot create new ones. A lot of comparison content still describes the old stack — including some articles ranking well right now.
Native iOS requires Rork Max, which starts at $200 per month for 1,000 credits. Rork Pro, from $20 per month, does not produce native SwiftUI — though note that Rork’s FAQ says Pro’s cross-platform Expo apps do “run on both iOS and Android”, while their subscriptions page describes Pro as native Android and web. “Native iOS” in this comparison means SwiftUI, which is Max only. The Free plan is web only, with public projects and 35 credits a month. Modaal builds native iOS on its free plan, and Pro — €9 per month billed annually, €15 monthly — adds unlimited projects, both platforms together and App Store distribution.
Yes. Modaal is a macOS app that builds and runs your app through Apple’s Xcode, so it needs a Mac with Xcode 26 or newer and around 50 GB of free disk space for Xcode and the simulators. Apple silicon is recommended for build speed. If you do not have a Mac, Rork is the better tool for you — it builds in the cloud.
You need an agent, and every new project starts on Modaal’s built-in free preview agent so you can try things immediately. To go further you connect your own — Claude, Codex, Gemini, Copilot, Cursor, OpenCode, OpenHands and others are supported — and authenticate with the subscription you already have. Modaal adds no per-token or API charge on top. If you already pay for one of these, that is cheaper than metered credits. If you do not, you are paying for two subscriptions rather than one.
Yes, and there is no export step, because the project is already a standard Xcode project on your own disk. Modaal generates SwiftUI screens, data models and API logic, and scaffolds the targets, modules, build settings, app icon and a passing test suite. You can open it in Xcode at any point, with or without Modaal running.
Possibly, and we would rather be straight with you than confident. Rork’s paid plans export generated code through a two-way GitHub integration, and Modaal works on a standard Xcode project on your disk — so if the export is a valid Xcode project, it should open. Rork’s documentation does not specify the exact project format you get, and we have not tested it, so we cannot promise it. If this is the deciding factor, export a small project first and open it before you commit either way.
Yes, on a paid plan. Rork’s documentation states that paid users own all generated code and can download it via a two-way GitHub integration, so you can edit locally and import changes back. The free tier has no export. Rork’s export documentation does not specify the exact project format, so test it if opening directly in Xcode matters to you.
It depends more on your hardware than your experience. Without a Mac, Rork is the only one of the two that can help you at all. With a Mac, Modaal’s free plan lets you build something real without paying or connecting anything, and because prompts are uncapped, experimenting badly — which is how everyone learns — costs nothing. On Rork’s free plan you get 35 credits and a web app, so the learning happens on a different thing than the one you are trying to make.
Related
- 19 AI App Builders Compared: Web, Mobile, Native (2026)19 AI app builders in one table — web, mobile and native — compared by what each actually ships, with pricing from their own pages, dated.
- Bitrig Alternative: Free, UnmeteredBitrig Free caps you at 10 requests and 15 credits a day. Modaal Free has no prompt cap at all, builds iOS or Android, and Pro is €9/month against their $25.
- Bubble Alternative for Native Mobile Apps (2026)Bubble’s native mobile is React Native and in public beta, and Bubble states apps cannot be exported as code. If you came to Bubble for a mobile app, here are your options.
Keep reading
- How much does it cost to create a mobile app?
The itemised bill, every number from the vendor charging it.
- The 7 best software to develop iOS apps
Where Rork ranks among the real tools that can ship an iOS app.
- Modaal vs Lovable
The other comparison readers land on after Rork.
- Native app or web app?
The decision underneath the price comparison.
- Swift or React Native?
The architecture question both tools answer differently.
- Every AI app builder, compared
The full table, with each vendor’s own claims quoted.
Start building for free
Build for as long as you want on the Free plan. Only upgrade when you're ready to launch.