Guide

    The 8 best no-code mobile app builders in 2026

    Eight tools that let a non-technical person build a real mobile app, each checked against its own pricing page this month — and the distinction almost every list skips: "no-code" now means three different things, and one of them still involves learning to program.

    Verified

    You typed "no-code" because you can't write code, and you want a mobile app anyway. Fair — that is now a completely normal way to build one, and this list is eight tools that can genuinely do it.

    The disclosure first, since we're on it: Modaal is our product, it's ranked first, and we wrote this. What we've done about that is the same thing we do everywhere on this site — every claim about every tool, ours included, comes from that vendor's own pricing page or documentation, with the date we checked it. Where a vendor's page leaves an important question open, the entry says so rather than filling the gap with a guess. And the entries where a competitor is the better answer say that plainly.

    Second thing worth knowing before the list, and it's the reason this article is organised the way it is: "no-code" is now three quite different products wearing one label. Which one you want depends less on features than on how you'd rather spend your effort — and one of the three, despite the name, still asks you to learn programming.

    The three things "no-code" means in 2026

    Generation A — module assembly. You pick from ready-made building blocks: a booking screen, a menu, a news feed. Genuinely code-free and genuinely fast, as long as your idea fits the blocks on offer. When it doesn't, you're stuck — there is no escape hatch. GoodBarber is the classic example.

    Generation B — visual programming. You lay out screens yourself and wire up the logic by connecting things: this button, that condition, this data binding, that state change. You never type a line of code — and you are unmistakably programming. Conditionals, data models, state and lifecycle all reappear, just as boxes and arrows instead of text. FlutterFlow, Adalo, Bubble and Glide all live here, and all of them have a real learning curve measured in weeks, not hours.

    Generation C — AI generation. You describe what the app should do in ordinary language, and an AI agent writes actual code, compiles it, reads its own errors and fixes them. Code exists — you simply never touch it. Modaal, Rork and Superapp work this way.

    Here is the uncomfortable bit, and it's the most useful thing on this page: if "no-code" means "I can't program", then generation B is the least no-code of the three. Visual programming is programming with a different notation. Plenty of people love it — designers especially, because you control every pixel and every transition. But anyone who reached for "no-code" as a way of avoiding programming altogether should know that FlutterFlow and Bubble will still teach them state management, just without a keyboard.

    That is not an argument against visual builders. It is an argument for knowing which of the three you're buying — which is what the rest of this list is for.

    The eight at a glance

    All figures from each vendor’s own pricing page or documentation, checked 29–31 August 2026. Prices as each vendor lists them; billing period noted where it differs.

    ToolGenerationWhat it outputsCheapest way to ship a store appOwn the code?
    ModaalC — AINative Swift/SwiftUI + Kotlin/ComposeFree to build; Pro €9/mo billed annually to distributeYes — Xcode project on your disk from build one
    FlutterFlowB — visualFlutter (Dart)Basic $39/mo — Free cannot ship or exportYes, from $39/mo; their branch overwrites on sync
    RorkC — AINative SwiftUI (Max tier)Max from $200/mo; Free is web apps onlyOn paid plans, via GitHub
    AdaloB — visualDisputed — see entryStarter $36/mo billed annually; Free publishes 0 appsNo documented export found
    SuperappC — AINative SwiftTheir blog says roughly $25/moYes — they hand over an Xcode project
    GoodBarberA — modulesNot stated per tier on their pricing pageContent from $30/mo, eCommerce from $40/moNot mentioned
    BubbleB — visualReact Native — public betaPlan prices not published in their docsNo — "no way of exporting your application as code"
    GlideB — visualNot stated; now positioned for internal business appsSolo $25/mo — see the entry before planning a consumer appNot mentioned

    1. Modaal

    Generation C — describe it, own real native code, free to build

    Modaal is our product. That is why it is first, and why this entry deserves your scepticism more than the other seven. The free plan exists precisely so you can check the claim rather than take it.

    Modaal is a macOS app that builds native iOS and Android apps by orchestrating an AI coding agent. You describe a feature in plain language; the agent writes Swift and SwiftUI, compiles it through Xcode, reads the build errors and fixes them, and shows you the result running. There is no visual canvas and no module library — and no code for you to touch either.

    Two structural choices matter more than any feature. The project is a standard Xcode project on your own disk from the first build — there is no export step because nothing is held anywhere else; open it without Modaal, hand it to a developer, leave whenever. And nothing is metered: the free plan is one active project with unlimited prompts, because building is iterating and a meter taxes the debugging you can least afford to hesitate over. The AI itself runs on the Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or Copilot subscription you likely already pay for.

    The honest constraint is the Mac, and it is in the skip list below, not buried.

    Pick if

    • You want a real native app and want to own the code from day one
    • You would rather describe an app than assemble one screen at a time
    • You want to try seriously for free — one project, no prompt cap, no card, no countdown

    Skip if

    • You do not own a Mac — Modaal drives Xcode, and Xcode is macOS only
    • You want a hosted database and backend included — Modaal ships none
    • You want to place every element yourself — that is FlutterFlow’s job, not ours

    Pricing

    Free: 1 active project, unlimited prompts, native iOS or Android, export any time, no card. Pro: €9/month billed annually (€15 monthly) — unlimited projects, both platforms, TestFlight and App Store distribution.

    Source: docs.modaal.dev/credits-and-plans, 31 August 2026

    2. FlutterFlow

    Generation B — the most capable visual builder in mobile, with real code export

    If you want to design every screen yourself, FlutterFlow is the strongest tool here. You compose visually in the browser with over a thousand templates, and the output is a real Flutter app — Google's framework, one codebase covering iOS, Android and web. Crucially for a category where most platforms keep your work: from the Basic tier you can download the code.

    Two things to plan around. The free plan builds and tests but cannot publish to the stores or export code — both begin at Basic, $39 a month (monthly billing). And their GitHub sync has a documented behaviour worth knowing before you customise: "FlutterFlow always pushes changes to a branch named `flutterflow`. Avoid making direct changes to this branch, as your changes will be overwritten by the next push from FlutterFlow." Your own edits live on a separate branch you merge — workable, and it means FlutterFlow stays the source of truth while you use it.

    The generation-B caveat applies here more than anywhere: FlutterFlow is powerful because it is close to programming. Budget weeks, not an afternoon. The full comparison is at FlutterFlow alternatives.

    Pick if

    • You think visually and want control over every screen and transition
    • You want iOS, Android and web from one project
    • Exportable code matters and $39/month is acceptable to get it

    Skip if

    • You reached for "no-code" to avoid learning programming — this has a real curve
    • You expected to ship or export on the free plan

    Pricing

    Free: 2 projects, web publishing, no code download, no App Store deploy. Basic $39/mo: code download, APK, one-click App Store deployment. Growth $80, Business $150 (first seat, monthly billing).

    Source: flutterflow.io/pricing and docs.flutterflow.io, 30–31 August 2026

    3. Rork

    Generation C without a Mac — at the Max tier price

    Rork does what Modaal does — you describe, an agent builds native Swift — with the one capability we cannot match: it needs no Mac. Rork builds on its own machines and submits to App Store Connect for you. If you are on Windows or a Chromebook and want a genuinely native app, this and Superapp are your shortlist, and no amount of framing on our part changes that.

    The tiering is the thing to understand before budgeting. Rork Free builds web apps only, in public projects, with 35 credits a month. Rork Pro at $20 does not include iOS. Native iOS starts at Rork Max, from $200 a month for 1,000 credits — a credit being roughly one request where Rork builds or edits your app — and their FAQ confirms there is no way to buy extra credits mid-month: you jump a whole tier or wait for the reset. Their FAQ also notes that Max apps are iOS-only and cannot be published to Google Play.

    Credit where it's due: Rork moved off React Native to native Swift generation because, in their own words, internal benchmarks showed the agent writes better Swift apps. Full sourced comparison: Rork alternatives.

    Pick if

    • You have no Mac and want a real native iOS app — the decisive row
    • You want build and store submission fully managed

    Skip if

    • $200/month is beyond budget — with a Mac, native output costs far less on this list
    • You want to debug without watching a credit counter
    • You need the same app on Google Play

    Pricing

    Free: 35 credits/month, web apps only, public projects. Pro from $20/month, no iOS. Max from $200/month with 1,000 credits — the native iOS tier.

    Source: docs.rork.com/introduction/subscriptions and rork.com/faq, 30 August 2026

    4. Adalo

    Generation B — the most managed publishing pipeline here

    Adalo pairs a visual builder with a hosted database and the smoothest store path on this list. Their product page: "One-click publishing to the Apple App Store and Google Play. Adalo handles the build pipeline — IPA, APK, code signing, submission." If certificates and provisioning are the part you dread, that sentence is the product, and no Mac is involved.

    Read the pricing axis carefully, because it is unlike everything else here: you pay per published app. Free publishes zero — it is a sandbox capped at 500 database records per app — Starter at $36/month (billed annually) publishes exactly one, Professional at $52 two, Team at $160 five. If you want to test several ideas, every live experiment costs a tier.

    Two open questions we could not close: we found no documented code export, and Adalo's marketing and its own developer documentation describe the underlying technology differently. Both quotes and the detail are in Adalo alternatives — worth two minutes before you commit a product.

    Pick if

    • You want exactly one app, fully managed into the stores, without a Mac
    • A hosted database out of the box matters more to you than owning code

    Skip if

    • You want to test several ideas — per-app pricing meters exactly that
    • Owning or exporting your code matters

    Pricing

    Free: 0 published apps, 500 records per app. Starter $36/mo billed annually: 1 published app. Professional $52: 2 apps. Team $160: 5 apps.

    Source: adalo.com/pricing and adalo.com/product, 31 August 2026

    5. Superapp

    Generation C in the cloud, at a mid-market price

    Superapp occupies a genuinely useful position: native Swift output, built in the cloud with no Mac required, at a price their own blog describes as roughly $25 a month — an order of magnitude under Rork Max for nominally comparable output. For a Mac-less founder priced out of Max, it is the obvious thing to evaluate, and evaluating it directly against Rork is what we would do in your position.

    We can say less about Superapp than about anything else here, and honesty requires flagging why rather than papering over it. Their own pages describe the free tier in two ways that contradict each other, so we cannot tell you reliably what you get before paying. And we could not find, anywhere in their materials, which AI model powers the generation — every other AI tool on this list either names its models or lets you bring your own. Neither is disqualifying; both are things to resolve with their support before committing a product.

    They also publish energetically — if you have researched this category you have likely read their comparison articles, including their own version of this list. Read those the way you should read this one: as a vendor's page.

    Pick if

    • No Mac, and Rork Max’s price rules it out
    • You want native Swift with managed cloud builds

    Skip if

    • Knowing which AI writes your code matters to you — it is not disclosed
    • You want a clearly documented free tier before paying
    • You have a Mac — the on-Mac tools here hand you the project directly

    Pricing

    Their own blog describes Pro at roughly $25/month. Their free-tier description varies between their own pages — confirm with them directly.

    Source: superappp.com pages, 29 August 2026

    6. GoodBarber

    Generation A — modules, sorted by what you are building

    GoodBarber is the classic no-code app builder in this list: you assemble from ready-made blocks, and the catalogue is organised by use case rather than technology — Content from $30/month (magazines, courses, radio, communities), eCommerce from $40 (retail, restaurants, click & collect), and a Reseller tier from $215 for agencies building for clients. Thirty-day trial, no card.

    For the cases the modules cover — the club app, the local shop, the magazine — this is the fastest route on the page, and the breadth of modules is the actual product.

    One question their pricing page leaves open, and it is the most important one for a mobile builder: which tier produces a native store app and where you get a progressive web app is not stated there — you have to go into the individual tier pages to find out. Check exactly that before subscribing. Code export is likewise not mentioned on the page we verified.

    Pick if

    • Your idea fits ready-made modules: content, shop, community, restaurant
    • You want an established vendor and a long free trial

    Skip if

    • You want to know precisely what gets built before paying — you must dig for it
    • Your app needs something outside the module catalogue

    Pricing

    Content from $30/month, eCommerce from $40/month, Reseller from $215/month. 30-day free trial, no credit card.

    Source: goodbarber.com/pricing, 31 August 2026

    7. Bubble

    Generation B — a full web platform whose mobile output is in beta

    Bubble is the most capable visual platform on this list and the least mobile. It gives you a database, workflows, authentication and a genuinely deep visual programming environment — and runs marketplaces and SaaS products at real scale. If your product is a web app with a companion mobile app, nothing else here matches that combination.

    For mobile specifically, know two things from their own documentation. The mobile feature builds with React Native and sits in Bubble's beta-features section as a public beta — real, store-submittable apps, on a feature younger than the platform around it. And there is "no way of exporting your application as code": you own your data and design, Bubble retains the code, apps run only on their platform. Usage is metered in workload units with overages at $0.30 per 1,000 — and if overages are disabled when you hit the allowance, their docs state "your app will be taken offline."

    Full picture, including where Bubble beats us outright: Bubble alternatives.

    Pick if

    • Your product is web-first and mobile is the companion
    • You want database, auth and app in one platform, no Mac

    Skip if

    • The mobile app is the product — a public-beta add-on is a thin foundation for it
    • Owning your code matters — their docs are explicit that you cannot export it

    Pricing

    Plan names published (Free, Starter, Growth, Team, Agency) but their docs list no prices — check bubble.io/pricing. Verified figure: workload overages at $0.30 per 1,000 units.

    Source: manual.bubble.io — ownership, native mobile and pricing FAQ pages, 30 August 2026

    8. Glide

    Generation B — but read this before planning a consumer app on it

    Glide built its reputation turning a spreadsheet into an app in an afternoon, and it still appears on almost every "no-code mobile app builder" list — including our competitor's, at number four.

    Here is what their own pricing page says now: Glide is "an AI software development platform for building internal business apps from a spreadsheet, a prompt, or a file." Internal business apps. That is a repositioning, and it changes who this tool is for. On the page we verified, there was no mention of native mobile output, App Store publishing, or code export — the three questions a consumer-mobile builder has to answer.

    Pricing is credit-metered: Free is one project with limited credits, Solo $25/month gives five projects starting at 100 credits, Team is $125/month, Enterprise custom.

    So the honest entry: if you need an internal tool over your company's data — inventory, field reports, approvals — Glide is excellent and possibly the fastest thing on this list. If you are building a consumer app for the App Store, confirm directly with Glide that it still does what you need, because their own current description points somewhere else.

    Pick if

    • You are building an internal business tool over existing data — its actual stated purpose
    • Your data already lives in a spreadsheet or database and speed matters most

    Skip if

    • You are building a consumer app for the App Store — verify current capability first
    • You need code ownership or a documented native output

    Pricing

    Free: 1 project, limited credits. Solo $25/month: 5 projects, from 100 credits. Team $125/month. Enterprise custom.

    Source: glideapps.com/pricing, 31 August 2026

    How this list was made — and what got cut

    Two rules produced these eight. A tool had to give a non-technical person a real route to a mobile app, and every claim about it had to be verifiable on that vendor's own pages, with a date. Where a page left an important question open — GoodBarber's per-tier output, Adalo's underlying technology, Bubble's plan prices, whether Glide still targets consumer mobile — the entry says so rather than filling the gap. Those gaps are findings, not omissions.

    Cut, with reasons. Bitrig produces native Swift from a Mac app and is a serious tool, but it is Apple-only by design and its free tier is metered by daily requests, which makes it a narrower fit for this particular list; the sourced comparison is at Bitrig alternatives. Lovable and v0 are excellent and not mobile — Lovable's own FAQ: "Lovable can only build web apps at the moment"; the longer story is at Can Lovable build mobile apps?. Thunkable, Draftbit, Bravo Studio, BuildFire and Appy Pie all appear on competing lists and are absent here for one reason only: we have not done the verification work on them that every listed entry received. That is a statement about our research, not a judgement on their products.

    And the limit of our method, stated plainly: we verified documentation and pricing. We have shipped real apps with exactly one tool on this list — our own. That is why there are no star ratings, no scores, and no "we tested all eight" claim anywhere on this page. Weigh the entries accordingly, then go and use the free tiers: seven of the eight have one.

    Frequently asked questions

    It depends which kind of "no-code" suits you. To describe an app and get real native code you own, with a Mac: Modaal, free to build (our product — verify the claim on the free plan). Without a Mac: Rork Max at $200/month or Superapp at roughly $25 by their own description. To design every screen yourself with exportable code: FlutterFlow, $39/month to ship or export. For one app fully managed into the stores: Adalo, $36/month. For ready-made modules: GoodBarber from $30/month.

    Yes, and in 2026 there are three genuinely different ways. Module assembly (GoodBarber) means picking from ready-made blocks. Visual programming (FlutterFlow, Adalo, Bubble, Glide) means building logic by connecting things rather than typing — no code, but a real learning curve, because it is programming in another notation. AI generation (Modaal, Rork, Superapp) means describing what you want while an agent writes and compiles actual code you never touch. If you chose "no-code" specifically to avoid programming, the third route is the most literal answer.

    Modaal generates Swift/SwiftUI and Kotlin/Compose — the platforms’ own toolkits. Rork Max and Superapp generate native Swift in the cloud. FlutterFlow outputs Flutter: compiled and store-submittable, though Flutter draws its own interface rather than using the platform’s. Bubble’s mobile output is React Native, in public beta. Adalo’s marketing and developer docs describe its technology differently, so ask them. GoodBarber does not state output per tier on its pricing page, and Glide does not mention native mobile at all. Ask every vendor the same question — "what exactly gets built, and with what?" — and treat an evasive answer as an answer.

    Some, and it varies more than you would expect. Modaal: the project is a standard Xcode project on your disk from the first build — nothing to export because nothing is held. FlutterFlow: code download from $39/month, with the caveat that their sync branch overwrites on each push. Rork: export on paid plans via GitHub. Superapp: they hand over an Xcode project. Bubble is explicit that there is no export. For Adalo, GoodBarber and Glide we found no documented export path on the pages we checked. If ownership matters, make each vendor show you the door before you move in.

    Check two things behind every "free": can you publish, and can you leave with your code? Adalo’s free plan publishes zero apps. FlutterFlow’s free plan cannot publish or export. Rork’s free plan builds web apps only. Glide’s free plan is one project with limited credits. Modaal’s free plan builds a real native app with unlimited prompts and export any time — that is our product, so verify it rather than believe it. Every route also carries Apple’s $99/year to reach the App Store, which no builder can remove.

    Yes — apps built with every tool on this list are in the stores today. What varies is what happens after launch: whether performance holds as the app grows, whether you can add something the platform did not anticipate, and whether you can leave with your work. Those questions are decided by output and ownership, not by whether you wrote code. The rows in the table above are, in that sense, a better predictor of year two than any feature list.

    Not for most of this list. Rork, Adalo, Bubble, GoodBarber, FlutterFlow, Glide and Superapp all run in a browser or build in the cloud. Modaal requires a Mac with Xcode 26 or newer, because it builds through Apple’s own toolchain on your machine — which is exactly what puts the project and the signing keys in your hands. If you have no Mac and want native Swift output, Rork Max and Superapp are the two routes here.

    Start building for free

    Build for as long as you want on the Free plan. Only upgrade when you're ready to launch.

    Keep reading