Comparison · vendor documentation read 30 August – 23 September 2026, quoted

    Best AI web app builders: seven tools on their own documentation, and what each does when the product needs to be on phones

    AI web app builders are the fastest way from a product idea to something people can click. This page compares seven of them on the four things a product person asks — what code comes out, whether you can take it, what runs the backend, and what happens the day the product needs to be in the App Store and Google Play — with every line quoted from the vendor’s own documentation. That last column is the one their own pages skip, and it is the reason a mobile company wrote this page.

    Verified

    What the web builders are for. A working web app from a description, with hosting, a database and login handled, in a browser tab: for validating a product, running an internal tool, or shipping a web product they are the right category, and the prototype they produce is the highest-fidelity input a PRD can have — mobile app prototyping puts them in the third fidelity. The four columns below are the ones that decide between them, and the fourth — the mobile hand-off — is where the seven differ most: three offer a React Native route through Expo, one wraps the web app in a web view, one says the stores are a PWA or a wrapper, and two do not state a mobile route at all.

    The seven, on their own documentation

    Lovable. Output, from its FAQ: “New Lovable apps created from May 13, 2026 use TanStack Start with server-side rendering (SSR). Older apps use React + Vite.” Export: a two-way GitHub sync on every plan, a Download codebase button on paid plans — export code from Lovable has the routes. Mobile: “Lovable does not generate React Native projects”; the store route is a progressive web app or a Capacitor wrapper, and the native route is migrating a Lovable app to a mobile app.

    Bolt. Web output, and a mobile route through Expo: “Expo is a platform that lets you build mobile apps for both iPhone and Android using the same code.” Export: “download the code and open it in a code editor.” The mobile result is a React Native project, not a Swift or Kotlin one.

    Replit. Web and, through its agent, mobile: “Expo is what Agent uses to build your mobile app on Replit,” with “Expo Go for development previews” on a real phone and no Mac needed for the Expo build. Backend on Replit’s own database and storage. Replit for mobile has the full read.

    Emergent. Tagline: “Build Full-Stack Web & mobile apps in minutes.” Its help centre: “Emergent supports cross-platform mobile app development using Expo (React Native framework),” and “Not Supported: Flutter, native Kotlin, native Swift.” Backend “FastAPI” with “MongoDB”; “Download your complete project”; the mobile agent is on paid plans. Emergent review has the detail.

    Base44. A Wix company (“© 2026 Wix.com Ltd.”). Web app with backend included; mobile, from its documentation: “Your mobile app runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view.” Code export is not stated on its public pages. Can Base44 make mobile apps has the read.

    v0. Output stack “Next.js, Tailwind, shadcn/ui”; “Clone pages with screenshots or Figma files.” A front-end generator first; a mobile route is not stated on the pages read.

    Figma Make. Produces “prototypes” and “web apps” from a prompt or a Figma design; local build marked “Coming soon” on the read date; a mobile route is not stated. The strongest of the seven when the design already exists in Figma — design to code tools has it beside Locofy, Anima and Builder.io.

    The mobile hand-off, explained once

    Three outcomes are possible the day a web product needs to be in the stores, and the seven builders sort into them.

    A wrapper. The web app runs inside a native shell — Capacitor for Lovable, a web view for Base44. One codebase, fast, and subject to Apple’s guideline 4.2, Minimum Functionality: “Your app should include features, content, and UI that elevate it beyond a repackaged website.” What passes under it and what does not is on turn a website into an app.

    A React Native project through Expo. Bolt, Replit and Emergent generate a second codebase in React Native, which compiles for both platforms and is not the web app — features are re-prompted for it. It is a cross-platform framework, not Swift or Kotlin; React Native vs native is the comparison.

    A native rebuild from the same spec. The web prototype becomes the reference and the PRD becomes the first prompt of a native build: in Modaal the first prompt takes “text, images, Figma links — whatever you provide”, so the prototype’s screens and the PRD go in together, the agent writes a plan you approve, and the iPhone and Android apps are built in SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose from one project. This is the route when the phone app is the product and the web app was the way to find out; the Free plan covers one project with unlimited prompts on one platform, and Pro (€9 per user per month billed annually, €15 monthly) adds both platforms and TestFlight — /pricing.

    How to choose, if the phone is where the product ends up

    Choose the web builder for the web job — validation, an internal tool, the web product — on the first three columns, and decide the mobile route before the prototype exists, not after: if the store version will be a wrapper, the builder’s wrapper route and guideline 4.2 are the constraints; if it will be React Native, the Expo route is the constraint; if it will be native, the prototype is a reference and the PRD is the asset, so write the one-page PRD first and treat the web build as its illustration. Whichever route, the thing that survives the hand-off is the spec, not the code.

    Seven AI web app builders — output, export, backend, mobile hand-off

    BuilderOutput stack (their words)Code exportBackendMobile hand-off
    LovableTanStack Start (from 13 May 2026); React + Vite (older)GitHub sync all plans; download on paid plansSupabase integrationPWA or Capacitor wrapper; “does not generate React Native projects”
    BoltWeb; Expo for mobile“download the code”Not statedReact Native via Expo, iPhone and Android
    ReplitWeb; Expo via Agent“Download as zip” on any planReplit database and storageReact Native via Expo; Expo Go previews; no Mac needed
    EmergentWeb; Expo (React Native) for mobile“Download your complete project”FastAPI + MongoDBReact Native via Expo; “Not Supported: … native Kotlin, native Swift”
    Base44Web app, backend includedNot statedIncludedWeb view: “runs your published Base44 app inside a secure web view”
    v0Next.js, Tailwind, shadcn/uiNot statedNot statedNot stated
    Figma Make“prototypes” and “web apps”Local build “Coming soon”Not statedNot stated

    Quotes from each vendor’s documentation or product page, read between 30 August and 23 September 2026. “Not stated” means the pages read do not say. Prices are not compared on this page.

    Frequently asked questions

    For the web job, the seven on this page are compared on their own documentation by output stack, export, backend and mobile hand-off, without a ranking; which is best depends on whether you need a full backend included (Base44, Emergent, Replit), a Figma design as the input (Figma Make, v0), or the largest ecosystem of integrations and exports (Lovable). If the product ends on phones, decide the mobile route first.

    Three of the seven generate a React Native project through Expo (Bolt, Replit, Emergent); Lovable’s route is a PWA or a Capacitor wrapper; Base44 wraps the published web app in a web view; v0 and Figma Make do not state a mobile route. None of the seven produces a Swift or Kotlin project; that is a native rebuild from the same PRD.

    Lovable syncs to GitHub on every plan and offers a download on paid plans; Bolt and Emergent say the project can be downloaded; Replit offers “Download as zip” on any plan; Base44 and v0 does not state export on its public pages; Figma Make’s local build was marked “Coming soon” on the read date. Ask on which plan before you start.

    Apple’s guideline 4.2, Minimum Functionality, sets the bar: “Your app should include features, content, and UI that elevate it beyond a repackaged website.” A wrapper is a legitimate route when the app does something the website does not — offline content, native navigation, push, camera; turn a website into an app has the guideline text and what passes under it.

    If validation is the goal, the web app is faster to put in front of people, and it becomes the reference for the mobile build. If the phone is the product — notifications, camera, offline, the home screen — write the PRD first and build native from it; the web app can still be the prototype. The document that survives either order is the spec.

    No. Their mobile routes are React Native through Expo or a wrapped web app. A native app — SwiftUI on iPhone, Jetpack Compose on Android, projects that open in Xcode and Android Studio — is a different category of tool; best native app builders defines the term and places the tools.

    Not by export — Lovable’s FAQ says it does not generate React Native projects, and its export is a web project. The route is to treat the Lovable app as the reference, write the PRD, and build native from it; migrate a Lovable app to a mobile app has the steps, including what carries over (the backend, the data model, the screens as reference) and what is rebuilt.

    The output. A web app builder produces a site with a backend that runs in a browser; a mobile app builder produces a project that runs on the phone — as a wrapper, as a React Native bundle, or as native Swift and Kotlin. Every builder on this page is the first kind; three add a React Native route; none produces native.

    Prototype on the web, ship native on both phones

    Attach the prototype and the PRD as the first prompt; approve the plan; Modaal builds the SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose apps from one project with your own AI agent. Free for one project.

    Keep reading