Comparison · vendor documentation read 10 and 23 September 2026, quoted

    Best native app builders: four questions that settle what “native” means, and where each tool lands

    Almost every app builder calls its output native. The word is doing different work on each site: a Swift project you open in Xcode, a React Native bundle that compiles to native code, a Flutter app in Dart, or a web page in a store wrapper. This page gives product people four questions that settle it in one call with any vendor, then places twelve builders by their own documentation — with “native on both platforms from one project” as the first column, because that is the column the lists never have.

    Verified

    What a product person means by native. Not a technology — three outcomes. The app looks and behaves like the platform’s own apps, because it uses the platform’s own UI parts (SwiftUI on iPhone, Jetpack Compose on Android). An iOS or Android engineer can open the project in Xcode or Android Studio and work on it without a translation layer. And the second platform is not a second project. The four questions below test each of those, and the answers sort the builders into three tiers: native on both platforms from one project; native on one platform, or native apps as separate projects; and cross-platform frameworks that compile to native — React Native and Flutter — which are a different decision, covered on the cross-platform app builder page and settled on React Native vs native.

    The four questions

    1. What language is the user interface written in? Swift and SwiftUI on iOS, Kotlin and Jetpack Compose on Android, is native. JavaScript or TypeScript with React Native, or Dart with Flutter, is a cross-platform framework that renders native or near-native controls — a legitimate choice, not the same thing. HTML in a wrapper is a web app.

    2. Does the app run inside a browser engine? If the vendor’s answer to “can I open the app in a browser too?” is “it is the same app”, it is a web app in a shell. Native apps do not have a web address.

    3. Can I open the project in Xcode or Android Studio — and on which plan? This is the question that turns “native” from a marketing word into an asset. A Swift project that opens in Xcode is one any iOS contractor can quote on; a bundle that only builds on the vendor’s servers is not. Ask on which plan export is included; the answers vary from “any plan” to “not offered”. AI app builder code export has the plan-by-plan table.

    4. What do I get for the second platform? Four possible answers: nothing (iOS only); a second project to prompt and pay for separately; one codebase in a cross-platform framework; or one project whose features are written once and rendered natively on each platform. The first column of the table is the fourth answer.

    Tier 1 — native on both platforms from one project

    Modaal. Each feature’s logic is written once: from the Duet documentation, “Each feature’s logic — its state, the actions that change it, the effects it requests — is written once,” and “The iPhone app renders that state in SwiftUI; the Android app renders it in Jetpack Compose.” The output is an Xcode project and an Android Studio project on your disk on every plan, including Free; your own AI agent, on your own subscription, does the writing, and a plan is shown for approval before code changes. Android support is available to every Modaal account; building both platforms is a Pro feature (€9 per user per month billed annually, €15 monthly — /pricing). It needs a Mac. That is the whole tier as of September 2026: no other builder read for this page describes one project producing a SwiftUI app and a Compose app.

    Tier 2 — native on one platform, or native apps as separate projects

    Rork. Native, and both platforms — as separate apps. Its documentation: “One Rork project can hold an iPhone app, an Android app, and a web app at the same time. Each app has its own code,” and “Rork writes a real Android Studio project in Kotlin.” Export: “Paid users own all generated code. Download it via GitHub!” For a product person the difference from tier 1 is the second sentence — each app has its own code, so a feature is prompted, reviewed and maintained twice.

    Superapp. Apple only. Its site: “Superapp generates production-ready native Swift code from your descriptions,” with no Android mentioned anywhere on the page, and “You fully own the code and can export it anytime.” A Swift project that opens in Xcode; the Android version is a different tool.

    Bitrig. Apple platforms in Swift, with “Export your code at any time” on the Free plan. Same shape as Superapp: native, one platform, project on disk.

    Tier 3 — cross-platform frameworks that compile to native

    These are not web apps and are not what question 1 calls native; they are React Native or Flutter, which the vendors describe accurately. The right comparison for them is React Native vs native.

    Newly. “Built with React Native and Expo, your apps compile to real iOS and Android native code — not webviews.” Source export offered.

    Vibecode. Its FAQ: “Your apps are built using React Native and Expo, which compile to native iOS and Android code.” Download gives “a complete React Native/Expo project”.

    Bolt. Its Expo integration page: “Expo is a platform that lets you build mobile apps for both iPhone and Android using the same code.”

    Draftbit. React Native and Expo; “Build for web, iOS & Android”; code import and export.

    Adalo. Its developer documentation: “Our mobile builds use React Native.” Code export is not offered as of September 2026 — the feature request on its forum has run since 2022 without a staff answer.

    Bubble. Native mobile is in “public beta”, on React Native: “Our current version of React Native will support: iOS devices running version 15.1 and later, Android devices running version 12 and later.” Export: “Bubble apps can only be run on the Bubble platform; there’s no way of exporting your application as code.”

    FlutterFlow. Flutter, in Dart: “The lib/ directory contains all the Dart code that drives your Flutter app.” Code download is on paid plans.

    Thunkable. Its site says “native iOS and Android”; the pages read for this page do not state the framework or whether code can be exported — ask question 3 before deciding.

    Not in the tiers: web app builders

    Lovable, and the other browser-first tools, build web apps. Lovable’s FAQ: “Lovable does not generate React Native projects.” Their store route is a progressive web app or a Capacitor wrapper, which is a web page inside a native shell — a fine answer for some products and a different page: turn a website into an app covers the three routes and Apple’s guideline 4.2 on it.

    How to choose, in the order a product person decides

    Decide the second platform first (question 4): if Android is on the roadmap at all, a tool that gives it as a second project or not at all is a second budget line. Then decide ownership (question 3): whether the project must open in Xcode and Android Studio for a contractor to take over, and on which plan. Only then the framework (questions 1 and 2), and only if the difference between SwiftUI and React Native matters to your users — for most consumer apps it shows in how the app follows platform updates, such as the iPhone Duo changes, which arrive in Apple’s own UI parts first.

    Whichever tier, the input is the same document: the one-page PRD. A builder that takes a PRD and produces a plan to approve before code is the shape product managers already work in — Modaal for product managers.

    Twelve builders by what “native” means on their own pages

    BuilderNative on both platforms from one projectUI languagePlatformsProject opens in Xcode / Android StudioExport
    ModaalYes — features written once, SwiftUI + ComposeSwift / KotliniOS + Android (both = Pro)Yes, both, on diskEvery plan
    RorkNo — “each app has its own code”Swift / KotliniOS, Android, web (separate apps)Yes, per app“Paid users own all generated code”
    SuperappNo — Apple onlySwiftiOS (no Android on the page)Xcode, yes“export it anytime”
    BitrigNo — Apple onlySwiftApple platformsXcode, yes“at any time” on Free
    NewlyCross-platform frameworkReact Native / ExpoiOS + AndroidRN projectYes
    VibecodeCross-platform frameworkReact Native / ExpoiOS + AndroidRN project“Download Code”
    BoltCross-platform frameworkReact Native / ExpoiOS + AndroidRN projectYes
    DraftbitCross-platform frameworkReact Native / ExpoWeb, iOS, AndroidRN projectImport / export
    AdaloCross-platform frameworkReact NativeiOS + AndroidNoNot offered (Sep 2026)
    BubbleCross-platform framework (beta)React NativeiOS 15.1+, Android 12+No“no way of exporting”
    FlutterFlowCross-platform frameworkFlutter / DartiOS + AndroidFlutter projectPaid plans
    ThunkableSays “native iOS and Android”Not statediOS + AndroidNot statedNot stated

    Quotes from each vendor’s documentation or product page, read 10 and 23 September 2026. “Not stated” means the pages read do not say. Prices are not compared here; the export page has plans.

    Frequently asked questions

    A tool whose output is an app written in the platform’s own language and UI framework — Swift and SwiftUI for iPhone, Kotlin and Jetpack Compose for Android — as a project that opens in Xcode or Android Studio. Builders that produce React Native or Flutter apps are cross-platform framework builders; builders that produce a web page in a store wrapper are web app builders. All three call themselves native somewhere.

    By their own documentation on 23 September 2026: Modaal writes each feature once and renders it in SwiftUI and Jetpack Compose from one project; Rork writes native Swift and Kotlin as separate apps in one workspace, each with its own code. Superapp and Bitrig are native and Apple-only. Newly, Vibecode, Bolt, Draftbit, Adalo and Bubble use React Native; FlutterFlow uses Flutter.

    It is a cross-platform framework that renders native controls from JavaScript, and the vendors using it say so accurately — Newly: “compile to real iOS and Android native code — not webviews.” It is not the same as a Swift or Kotlin project, and whether the difference matters for your product is the question React Native vs native answers.

    It depends on the tool and the plan: Modaal keeps the Xcode and Android Studio projects on your disk on every plan; Superapp says “export it anytime”; Bitrig “at any time” on Free; Rork for paid users; FlutterFlow on paid plans; Adalo not offered; Bubble “no way of exporting”. Ask on which plan before you start, because the answer decides whether a contractor can take the project over.

    To build and sign an iOS app with Apple’s tools, yes — Xcode runs on macOS. Modaal is a Mac app for that reason. Browser-based builders compile on their own servers, which is what makes their export question important.

    The store fees are the same for every tool: $99 per year for the Apple Developer Program and a one-time $25 for Google Play. Modaal is free for one project with unlimited prompts on one platform; Pro is €9 per user per month billed annually, or €15 monthly, and adds both platforms and TestFlight distribution. Other builders’ plans are on the code-export page, which is re-verified when they change.

    The second platform. If Android is on the roadmap, a builder that offers it as a second project or not at all is a second budget line and a second backlog. Ownership comes next — whether the project opens in Xcode and Android Studio and on which plan — and the framework last.

    They are different: a native app uses the platform’s UI parts and follows platform updates such as new devices in Apple’s own frameworks; a wrapped web page is one codebase for web and stores. Apple’s guideline 4.2 sets a bar for wrapped sites in the App Store; turn a website into an app covers the three routes without ranking them.

    Native on both platforms, from one PRD

    Write the feature once; the iPhone app renders it in SwiftUI and the Android app in Jetpack Compose. Xcode and Android Studio projects on your disk, your own AI agent, a plan to approve before code. Free for one project.

    Keep reading